Ganassi's No. 02 squad hoping to go back-to-back in Rolex 24

Chip Ganassi Racing is one of the most formidable teams almost everywhere they go, but especially here in the Rolex 24.

Even rival A.J. Allmendinger spoke of how seemingly bullet proof their cars are and how their teams rarely step a foot wrong.

Ganassi' secondary group of Rolex 24 drivers, made up of pilots from their NASCAR and IndyCar ranks, came away with the overall win in 2015. And in the last hooray for the Daytona Prototypes, they want nothing more than to win it all one more time.

"In a way, it's a little bit of pressure but in another way, we've already done it so there's always that consolation, if something happens," explained Tony Kanaan. "Racing for a team like Chip's, especially with all the other programs he has going on right now, it's not giving us any other option than to go for the win."

"He's got a lot of pride in this effort," Kyle Larson said of Chip Ganassi. "Especially this year, having 14 drivers here. It's cool to be part of that and I could see at the dinner we had at the Roar ... I could see he was really excited to have us all at one table.

"He's just really proud. You can just see how excited he really is," added Jamie McMurray.

McMurray, although confident in his equipment, doubted that the DPs have the pace to beat the P2s outright, unless reliability woes strike the latter, a claim met with skepticism from Michael Shank Racing's A.J. Allmendinger (READ MORE).

What happens after this year?

With the end of the DP era, does that mean the end of these driver's involvement in the Rolex 24? It's a question worth asking and what the drivers don't seem to have an answer for just yet.

"I hope not," commented Scott Dixon. "I hope there's still an option with the team, but it's definitely a blatant reality with what's coming. I haven't really spoken with Chip for possibilities with P2.

"But all of us hope to be part of this race again next year."

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IMSA
Event Daytona 24
Track Daytona International Speedway
Drivers Scott Dixon , Tony Kanaan , Jamie McMurray , Kyle Larson
Teams Chip Ganassi Racing
Article type Preview