Ferraris looking to repeat history, maintain momentum at Laguna Seca

Risi Competizione looking for three podiums in a row in GT-LeMans.

Englewood Cliffs, N.J. – This weekend’s IMSA United SportsCar Championship race at the famed Laguna Seca circuit in Salinas, Calif. will see two examples of the Ferrari 458 Italia battle for class victory on a circuit where Ferraris have been victorious since the gates were opened.

A Ferrari 500 TRC driven by Pete Lovely won the first race held at Laguna Seca in September of 1957, and the Ferrari 458 Italias of Risi Competizione and Scuderia Corsa will look to continue in the tradition of that 500 TRC.

The no. 61 Risi Competizione Ferrari 458 Italia of Giancarlo Fisichella and Pierre Kaffer nearly won the previous IMSA race in Long Beach, California but ultimately finished in second position. After finishing third at the 12 Hours of Sebring, the duo are looking to continue their current streak with another podium result at Laguna Seca. Fisichella and Kaffer are currently third in the GT-LeMans driver championship.

GT-Daytona class Scuderia Corsa racing in front of home crowd

In the GT-Daytona class, which was not a part of the previous event in Long Beach, drivers of the no. 63 Scuderia Corsa Ferrari 458 Italia Townsend Bell and Bill Sweedler occupy the third position in the GT-Daytona driver championship after a strong run at Daytona and a third place at Sebring. Scuderia Corsa, run by the Mattioli Automotive Group which also owns Ferrari SiliconValley located near the circuit in Redwood City, will also play host to a large number of local clients in support of the team.

Sunday’s IMSA United SportsCar Championship race will be shown live at 4:00 PM ET on FOX Sports 1. Qualifying will be streamed live on Saturday at 7:15 PM ET on

Ferrari North America


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IMSA
Event Laguna Seca
Track Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca
Drivers Giancarlo Fisichella , Townsend Bell , Pierre Kaffer , Bill Sweedler
Article type Preview
Tags ferrari, risi competizione, scuderia corsa