ESM Patrón signs Dalziel for 2014

Scot to co-drive with Sharp; van Overbeek and Brown in No. 02

STUART, Fla., – Oct. 22, 2013 – Extreme Speed Motorsports wrapped up the final season of the American Le Mans Series presented by Tequila Patrón with a second-place finish in the P2 drivers’ championship for driver/owner Scott Sharp, and a second-place team finish in the class. Now the Florida-based team has its sights set on the Prototype class of 2014 TUDOR United SportsCar Championship.

ESM newcomer Ryan Dalziel will co-drive with Sharp in the No. 01 Tequila Patrón Honda Performance Development ARX-03b (HPD). Johannes van Overbeek returns to ESM for his fifth season and will co-drive with Ed Brown in the sister No. 02 machine.

A world-class championship driver, Dalziel won the 2012 FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC) and GRAND-AM North American Endurance Championship titles. In addition, he raced to victory at the 2012 24 Hours of Le Mans in the Starworks Motorsport HPD ARX-03b LMP2 machine. Dalziel was honored in 2012 with the William Lyons Trophy from the Scottish Motor Racing Club and was recognized in 1999 with the Ecurie Ecosse Trophy winner, presented to most impressive Scottish racer of season.

Ryan Dalziel
Ryan Dalziel

Photo by: Eric Gilbert

In North American sports cars, Dalziel has raced in both the GRAND-AM Rolex Sports Car Series and the American Le Mans Series. He has ALMS race wins at Road Atlanta, Long Beach and Baltimore; and GRAND-AM race wins at Indianapolis, Mid-Ohio and Daytona.

Dalziel started his racing career in 1999 and earned series runner-up honors in the British Formula Vauxhall Championship. He raced in the British Formula Renault Championship, British Formula Three Championship, Toyota Atlantic Series, Formula Atlantic Series, Champ Car World Series and World Endurance Championship.

van Overbeek returns for his fifth season with ESM. The Oakland, Calif., native begins his 15th sports car racing season and second with co-driver Ed Brown in the No. 02 Tequila Patrón HPD.

Brown and van Overbeek teamed for the first time in 2013. In their first season co-driving the prototype race car, they earned three podium finishes – Long Beach, Baltimore and Circuit of The Americas.

A seasoned veteran, van Overbeek has competed in both the ALMS and GRAND-AM. He is one of a handful of drivers that made more than 100 ALMS career starts. At his 100th start, van Overbeek made one of the most memorable moves of the 2012 season and in Canadian Tire Motorsport Park track history. On the final lap of the race, he made a ‘Hail Mary’ pass and maneuvered around the competition en route to ESM’s first GT victory.

The 12-race 2014 TUDOR United SportsCar Championship begins with the 52nd running of the Rolex 24 At Daytona on Jan. 25-26.

Extreme Speed Motorsports

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IMSA
Drivers Ryan Dalziel , Scott Sharp , Johannes van Overbeek , Eric Gilbert , Ed Brown
Teams ESM Racing
Article type Breaking news
Tags brown, dalziel, esm, extreme speed, honda, hpd, patron, sharp, uscc, van overbeek