Dodge Viper SRT team wants two in a row

After Indy victory, team turns to Road America.

After the No. 93 Dodge Viper SRT GTS-R captured its first victory of 2014 in the Brickyard Grand Prix at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in the team's most-recent event, SRT (Street and Racing Technology) Motorsports now heads to Wisconsin's Road America for the Road Race Showcase, Aug. 8-10, the site of the team's first win in 2013.

Drivers Jonathan Bomarito and Kuno Wittmer drove the No. 93 Viper to the checkered flag at the historic Indy track, adding to the considerable momentum the SRT team will carry to Wisconsin, the location of the Viper GTS-R's first win since returning to sports car racing in 2012. Now the team enters Road America having tallied a victory, a pole position and five podium finishes in the previous three IMSA TUDOR United SportsCar Championship events.

With their win, the No. 93 Viper currently ranks second in the championship points standings as they head to Wisconsin, while the No. 91 Viper sits fourth.

Road America has fond memories for team

In 2013, Dominik Farnbacher and Marc Goossens captured the victory at Road America in the No. 91 Dodge Viper SRT GTS-R, while Bomarito and Wittmer were also in contention for the win. Using differing fuel strategies, the No. 91 Viper team was able to save fuel to take the checkered flag due to a late-race caution. Had the race stayed green, the No. 93 Viper would have been in position to win with ample fuel if the leaders had pitted.

For SRT Motorsports, the 2013 Wisconsin victory was the team's first since they returned to racing in the American Le Mans Series (ALMS) in 2012 and in the team's first full-time season. The triumph also marked the Viper GTS-R's first top-tier sports car victory since 2000.

The Road Race showcase, the eighth event for the GTLM class in the 2014 IMSA schedule, will take place at 12:15 p.m. CDT at Wisconsin's Road America on Sunday, Aug. 10. The race will be broadcast at 5:30 p.m. CDT on FOX Sports 1. 



Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IMSA
Event Road America
Track Road America
Drivers Marc Goossens , Kuno Wittmer , Jonathan Bomarito , Dominik Farnbacher
Article type Preview