Daytona 24: Winners and losers

All the winners from this year 24 Hours of Daytona

After more than 700 laps, it was the number 5 Action Express Racing car of Joao Barbosa, Sebastian Bourdais and Christian Fittipaldi were able to hold off the Wayne Taylor Racing squad to claim the overall win in their Chevrolet Corvette Daytona Prototype.

Behind the prototype class saw the GTLM Porsche factory team of Patrick Pilet, Nick Tandy and Richard Lietz take the GTLM class win, and finished 6th overall only 16 laps behind the leader.

Prototype challenge saw the CORE Autosport car of Colin Braun, Jon Bennett, Mark Wilkins and James Gue take the win in a perfect 24 hour event, that saw them spinning in the third turn on the first lap after starting on pole.

The big talking point is the final results from GTD, which saw IMSA officials penalizing the first in class car of Allesandro Pier Guidi, Scott Tucker, Jeff Segal, Townsend Bell and Bill Sweedler for avoidable contact with the number 45 Flying Lizard Audi.

The penalty send the Level 5 car to fourth overall, off the podium, with Flying Lizard taking the class win.

More reactions and recaps to follow.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IMSA
Drivers Christian Fittipaldi , Wayne Taylor , Colin Braun , Townsend Bell , James Gue , Joao Barbosa , Mark Wilkins , Jeff Segal , Patrick Pilet , Alessandro Pier Guidi , Richard Lietz , Scott Tucker , Nick Tandy , Bill Sweedler , Jon Bennett
Teams Action Express Racing , Wayne Taylor Racing
Article type Breaking news
Tags actions express, daytona 24, rolex 24, tudor united sportscar