Corvettes at Indy: Sixth and 10th in GT, four DPs in Prototype top 10

Antonio Garcia turns a 106.309 mph lap in GT Le Mans C7.R.

Corvette Racing’s two Chevrolet Corvette C7.Rs qualified sixth and 10th for Friday’s Brickyard Grand Prix at the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Antonio Garcia was sixth-quickest Thursday in qualifying with a lap of 1:22.593 (106.309 mph) in the No. 3 Chevrolet Corvette C7.R he drives with Jan Magnussen.

 The Garcia/Magnussen pairing enters the race as the championship leaders in the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship’s GT Le Mans (GTLM) class, and Chevrolet leads in GTLM manufacturer points. The No. 3 Corvette is on a four-race winning streak in GTLM – Long Beach, Laguna Seca, Watkins Glen and Canadian Tire Motorsports Park. 

Tommy Milner was 10th on Thursday in the No. 4 Corvette C7.R with a lap of 1:23.237 (105.487 mph). Corvette Racing will take the green flag for the first time at the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

 Giancarlo Fisichella was the fastest qualifier in GTLM at 1:22.378 (106.587 mph). 

Fittipaldi, Action Express Racing to start on second row

Action Express Racing led the Corvette Daytona Prototype contingent in Prototype qualifying Thursday. Christian Fittipaldi piloted the No. 5 Corvette DP to a fourth-place starting position with a time of 1:18.102 (112.422 mph). 

Fittipaldi and co-driver Joao Barbosa are looking for their second victory of the season after taking the a season-opening victory in the Rolex 24 At Daytona.  Richard Westbrook and Michael Valiante in the No. 90 Spirit of Daytona Corvette DP posted the fifth quickest time of Thursday’s qualifying session with a lap of 1:18.188 (112.299).  The paring notched a victory earlier this season at Watkins Glen.  

Jordan Taylor was seventh in qualifying in the No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Corvette DP. Eric Curran rounded out the Chevrolet-powered cars in the top 10. Curran will pilot the No. 31 Marsh Racing Corvette DP from the ninth starting spot.  Ryan Dalziel was the fastest qualifier at 1:17.603 (113.145 mph). 

Live television coverage of the Brickyard Grand Prix starts at 5:30 p.m. ET, Friday on FOX Sports 1.

Chevrolet Racing

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IMSA
Event Indianapolis
Sub-event Thursday qualifying
Track Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Drivers Giancarlo Fisichella , Ryan Dalziel , Antonio Garcia , Jan Magnussen , Christian Fittipaldi , Wayne Taylor , Michael Valiante , Joao Barbosa , Jordan Taylor , Eric Curran , Tommy Milner , Richard Westbrook
Teams Corvette Racing , Action Express Racing , Wayne Taylor Racing
Article type Qualifying report
Tags action express, corvette c7.r, wayne taylor racing