BMW confirms IMSA lineup for 2016

BMW Team RLL driving squad is predictable, but there remain question marks in Turner Motorsport’s two-car entry

BMW Motorsport used its traditional season review in the BMW Museum in Munich to present its program for the 2016 season, including its works and privateer lineups for the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s BMW M6 GTLMs will be driven by Bill Auberlen, Dirk Werner, John Edwards and Lucas Luhr. Augusto Farfus, Bruno Spengler, Graham Rahal and Kuno Wittmer will be the third and fourth drivers for each car in January’s Rolex 24 Hours at Daytona.

Canada’s Wittmer, who won the 2014 GTLM Drivers’ title in the Dodge SRT Viper, has already been confirmed as being a third BMW driver for IMSA’s other two endurance races, the 12 Hours of Sebring and Petit Le Mans.

Turner Motorsport will field two BMW M6 GT3s in the GTD class, but there are still slots available in the lineup. BMW works driver Jens Klingmann will contest the entire season for Turner, and BMW Motorsport Junior Jesse Krohn will be part of the team’s lineup at all three enduros, but who fills the vacancies for regular season rounds is as yet unconfrmed.

What BMW did confirm, however, is that Turner’s lineup for Daytona will include DTM drivers Marco Wittmann and Maxime Martin.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IMSA
Drivers Graham Rahal , Bill Auberlen , Lucas Luhr , Bruno Spengler , Augusto Farfus , Kuno Wittmer , Dirk Werner , Maxime Martin , Jens Klingmann , John Edwards , Marco Wittmann , Jesse Krohn
Teams Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing , Turner Motorsport
Article type Breaking news