ARA Racefacts for Road Atlanta

AUTO RACING ANALYSIS RACEFACTS BULLETIN JUNE 21, 1998 ROAD ATLANTA SPECIAL EDITION Sunday's fourth round of the 1998 PSCR WSC/GT series held at Road Atlanta produced a second consecutive PSCR WSC victory for Butch Leitzinger and...


JUNE 21, 1998


Sunday's fourth round of the 1998 PSCR WSC/GT series held at Road Atlanta produced a second consecutive PSCR WSC victory for Butch Leitzinger and James Weaver as they led a Dyson Racing Ford R & S Mk 3 team 1-2, winning by 44.891 seconds over runnerup teammates Dorsey Schroeder and Elliott Forbes-Robinson. The duo became the first drivers to take multiple 1998 PSCR WSC victories and made the Dyson team 1998's first PSCR WSC team to attain two wins. The Dyson entries started fourth and third, respectively but the winning car led 140 of 162 laps while the runnerup led one lap. Four cars led the race (the two Dyson entries, the Doyle/Risi Ferrari, and the Champion Porsche 911 GT1) with the lead changing hands five times. Ferraris filled the front row with Eric Van de Poele placing the Toshiba/Danka Doyle/Risi 333SP on the pole with Didier Theys alongside in the Lista 333SP. Theys set Fast Lap for the second consecutive PSCR event but the car retired with mechanical problems. Van de Poele and Wayne Taylor finished fourth overall and third in WSC, four laps down to the Dyson duo. Taylor continues to lead the 1998 PSCR WSC standings, now with 93 points, to 91 for Van de Poele with 1997 WSC champion Leitzinger now third with 77 points. Thierry Boutsen and Bob Wollek won GT1 in the STP Champion Porsche 911 GT1 by sixteen laps over the runnerup Visteon Ford Panoz GTR of Raul Boesel and Eric Bernard as all three Panoz entries encountered trouble. The Porsche started second in class and took an early lead, evening leading overall for seven laps. The GT1 winner placed third overall. The Porsche victory was the marque's first in 1998 PSCR GT1 competition, ending a four-race (dating back to the 1997 finale.) Panoz GT1 win streak and a four-race GT1 win streak for David Brabham (and a three-race GT1 win streak for Andy Wallace). The victory was Boutsen's second in only seven PSCR GT starts; his first win was an overall victory in the 1985 Daytona 24 Hours, teaming in a GTP Porsche 962 with Wollek, A.J. Foyt, and Al Unser. Wallace put his Panoz on the pole but wrecked early in the race while Bernard set Fast Lap; Panoz entries have won three consecutive PSCR GT1 poles and set six consecutive PSCR GT1 Fast Laps. Eric Bernard leads the 1998 PSCR GT1 point standings. For the third consecutive PSCR event, PTG Yokohama/Fina BMW M3s won both the GT2 and GT3 classes. Marc Duez and Boris Said teamed with Brian Simo to win GT2 by one lap over the Schumacher Racing Porsche 911 GT2 of Larry Schumacher/John O'Steen/Andy Pilgrim. The victory was the fourth consecutive in 1998 PSCR GT competition for Said, as he won GT3 in the 1998 Sebring 12 Hours and has been part of the GT2-winning team in the Las Vegas, Lime Rock, and Road Atlanta events. Duez scored his third consecutive 1998 PSCR GT win, having won GT3 at Las Vegas plus the GT2 events at Lime Rock and Road Atlanta. Brian Simo's GT2 victory was his career-first PSCR GT win and came in only his third PSCR GT start. Duez put the GT2 winner on pole for the second consecutive event as the PTG BMWs have won three consecutive PSCR GT2 poles. BMW was denied the GT2 Fast Lap, however, as Andy Pilgrim achieved that feat in the Schumacher Porsche 911 GT2. Road Atlanta marked the car's second 1998 PSCR GT2 Fast Lap, as Larry Schumacher achieved the honor at Las Vegas. Schumacher continues to lead the 1998 PSCR GT2 point standings. Bill Auberlen and Mark Simo teamed to win GT3 by a lap over Yokohama/Fina PTG BMW M3 teammates Peter Cunningham and Ross Bentley (the Lime Rock GT3 winners). Auberlen's victory was his third in four 1998 PSCR GT3 races (he finished second at Lime Rock); he also shared the Las Vegas GT2 win and thus has four 1998 PSCR GT victories. Auberlen won the pole and set Fast Lap, scoring a "Clean Sweep" of Road Atlanta GT3 honors. Mark Simo's victory was his second in GT3, joining his Las Vegas win. Auberlen leads Mark Simo by four points in the 1998 PSCR GT3 point chase. PTG BMW has now won seven consecutive PSCR GT3 events, tying the all-time PSCR GT3 "team" win streak record set by Kent Racing and its Mazda RX-7 entries with a seven-race win streak from 1981's Portland GT3 event through the 1982 Daytona 24 Hours. For the Simo brothers, Mark (GT3) and Brian (GT2), the feat of each achieving a different class win in the same event marked the second such "brother" milestone in PSCR GT history. Jim and Will Pace were the first to achieve the feat in the 1996 Sebring 12 Hours when Jim won overall in the Doyle Oldsmobile Aurora R & S Mk 3 and Will won GT3 in a Porsche 911. "Brother teams" won in the same car in two PSCR GT events. Gary and Geoff Brabham (teamed with Derek Daly) won the 1991 Sebring 12 Hours in the NPTI Nissan NPT 90, and Bill and Don Whittington won the 1979 Riverside GTX event in a Porsche 935 Turbo. The Brian and Mark Simo "brother act" is but the latest in PSCR GT racing. Two "trios" of brothers have won PSCR GT events, the most recent Geoff, Gary, and David Brabham joining the Bill, Don, and Dale Whittington trio; all three never combined to win together or in the same event, however. Other brothers with PSCR GT wins (but not in the same events or together) are Paul and Wally Dallenbach, Jr., Irv and Scott Hoerr, Bart and Tom Kendall, Rod and Steve Millen, and Kenper and Paul Miller.

Our website at provides a wealth of useful and interesting auto racing information. The site also contains descriptions of the many services and products available from Auto Racing Analysis.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IMSA Others
Drivers Wally Dallenbach Sr. , David Brabham , Butch Leitzinger , James Weaver , Boris Said , Didier Theys , Raul Boesel , Andy Pilgrim , Brian Simo , Bill Auberlen , Al Unser Sr. , Thierry Boutsen , Dorsey Schroeder , Tom Kendall , Peter Cunningham , Ross Bentley , Derek Daly , Bob Wollek , Don Whittington , Paul Miller , Marc Duez , Geoff Brabham , A.J. Foyt
Teams Dyson Racing