Pikes Peak Saturday Cars post-race notes

Falken Tire Pikes Peak International Hill Climb News 2005 FALKEN TIRE PIKES PEAK INTERNATIONAL HILL CLIMB SATURDAY POST-RACE NOTES: CARS The Open Wheel division saw its top three qualifiers - Jimmy Keeney, Wally Dallenbach Jr. and Paul ...

Falken Tire Pikes Peak International Hill Climb News


The Open Wheel division saw its top three qualifiers - Jimmy Keeney, Wally Dallenbach Jr. and Paul Dallenbach - suffer DNF's. David Donner took advantage of the situation, rode a smart run and won with a time of 11:15.685. If that time remains official he will receive the Overall Champion award Sunday. "Anytime you can get to the top, it's great," Donner said "To win, obviously I'm thrilled to death. We experienced some difficulties this week - very few runs. This is my first complete run. I didn't complete a practice run. It wasn't pretty. It wasn't fast. I was watching the clock in my car, going, 'You have got to be kidding me. I'm going this slow?' I am so happy, thrilled to death for the team. We're just thrilled. Absolutely spectacular."

Leonard Vahsholtz returned to his regular position at the top of the podium in the Super Stock Truck/SUV division. Even with this win, he wasn't thrilled with his winning time of 12:07.617. "I'm pleased with first place," Vahsholtz said. "Any time I'm not in the 11's I'm not pleased, because the road's faster than that and my car's faster than that and I'm faster than that. I gave it all I had. I'd sure like to see Clint win. He worked real hard this year. I've seen him be very intense but this year he was extra intense."

Clint Vahsholtz kept his streak of PPIHC domination alive with his tenth consecutive Super Stock Car victory, thanks to a run of 11:58.403. He will also try to make the field in the ITT Industries Systems and Goulds Pumps Salute to the Troops 250 Presented by Dodge at Pikes Peak International Raceway July 23. "I'm glad to be in the 11-minutes," Vahsholtz said. "In the middle of the W's I was saying to myself, 'This isn't a record road, so I might as well not try to make a record out of it.' I just had to hunker down, pull my belts, get up on the wheel, try to keep it in the groove and do what I could do. It's a big deal. I'm going to lose one of these days. It tears you up. But when you win, it's very gratifying. Right now, for sure I'll be at PPIR for the Busch Series race. I'm going to test there this Thursday."

Mike Ryan again won the Big Rig division with a time of 12:46.815, breaking his old record. "That's a brand new record," Ryan said. "To do this for 12 minutes, it just doesn't get any better than this. I'm just proud that it's here and we got the job done. We're just trying to build this truck division on Pikes Peak and it's exciting. Everybody stepped up this year."

Randy Schranz continued his PPIHC tradition of breaking his own propane-powered Exhibition class record. His latest record, which he'll likely try to break next year, is 12:16.184 "We broke the record twice, I think, in the last five years but we've never broken it by that much," Schranz said. "That's really exciting. From Elk Park up, I think (the course) was better than any practice days we've had."

Brian Moody suffered a DNF in the Pikes Peak Open race last year. He made up for it by taking the title with his run of 12:24.364, and he was very excited when he climbed from his car. "It's just completely incredible. We had a problem with the turbo charger. I was convinced that we weren't going to be able to do it," Moody said. "This is just unbelievable for me. This is the top of the gods! This is amazing! I can't believe it!"

Todd Cook took the Mini Sprint title with his run of 11:53.963. He would have been significantly faster, but he stalled his car just above Double Cut. "I stalled the motor where (Bobby) Regester's car died. I probably lost ten or 15 seconds," Cook said. "I can't blame anybody but myself for this one. I'm happy to be first in the class. There's a lot of good guys in this class. A lot of them want a piece of this win and they've been working hard to try it."

Jack Guynn took the Championship division crown with his time of 12:27.660. "I'm fairly happy with it. It was kind of slick for me," Guynn said. "I was a little too tight and it pushed the front end a lot. Other than that it was a pretty nice run. It feels great, absolutely wonderful."

Koichi Horiuchi took the Unlimited title with a run of 11:34.568. And Andrew Hawkeswood's interesting week only got weirder. His car was stuck in US Customs in Los Angeles. Then Mike Ryan's Big Rig let go of its parking brake and the truck rolled into Hawkeswood's car. Saturday, he blew a tire and had to drive more than three miles that way. "We got to Devil's Playground. I hit something in the track there," Hawkeswood said. "The left front tire is punctured. It's completely gone. We were going for a reasonable time until that happened. I had to drive up here on three wheels, basically. We were probably running pretty good until then. I've done a lot of rallying and I've done a lot of driving on two or three wheels. I'm a good guy at getting cars to the finish and that's what I did." Hawkeswood finished with a time of 11:43.097. He says he will return to the PPIHC next year with a new car.

Stephan Verdier took the small prize of the PPIHC Rally America event and the large prize of winning the seven-stage rally on Pikes Peak. With co-driver Chrissie Beavis, he made it up the hill with a time of 12:17.651. "We made a few mistakes," Verdier said. "If we win the Hill Climb, that would be the cherry on the cake. If we don't have it, I can do without the cherry!"


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Hillclimb
Drivers Wally Dallenbach , Clint Vahsholtz , Paul Dallenbach , Chrissie Beavis , Stephan Verdier , Jimmy Keeney , Randy Schranz , Mike Ryan