Estoril RST: Palttala and Schiller win Endurance crown

The #9 Marc VDS crew of Markus Palttala and Fabian Schiller have been crowned Renault Sport Trophy Endurance champions after finishing second in the final round of the season at Estoril.

Start action
Podium: Race winner #9 Team Marc VDS Renault RS01: Fabian Schiller; second place #15 Team Marc VDS Renault RS01: Fran Rueda; third place #3 R-ace GP Racing Renault RS01: Fredrik Blomsted
#4 Oregon Team Renault RS01: Andres Mendez, David Fumanelli
#16 Team Duqueine Renault RS01:  Diego Mejia, Ben Anderson
Start action
#2 R-ace GP Racing Renault RS01: Raoul Owens, Fredrik Blomstedt
#15 Team Marc VDS Renault RS01: Tanart Sathienthirakul, Fran Rueda
#19 Equipe Verschuur Renault RS01: Steijn Schothorst
#19 Equipe Verschuur Renault RS01: Miguel Ramos, Steijn Schothorst

The #19 Equipe Verschuur car in the hands of Steijn Schothorst led the first half of the race but the #9 Marc VDS entry claimed the lead following the mid-race driver swaps.

The two cars traded positions again when Schiller ran wide on lap 30, allowing Schothorst's replacement Miguel Ramos to get ahead and take the win.

However, second place was enough for Palttala and Schiller to clinch the Endurance title by five points from R-Ace GP’s Fredrik Blomstedt, whose teammate Raoul Owens retired early in the race.

Behind, Tanart Sathienthirakul and Fran Rueda finished third to give Marc VDS the Teams’ Championship crown.

V8 Racing’s Oliver Freymuth and Josh Webster finished fourth ahead of the #17 Duqueine Engineering team of Christophe Hamon and Lonni Martins.

Steijn Schothorst wins Pro race, his brother Pieter clinches title

Steijn Schothorst also emerged victorious in Sunday’s Pro race, the Dutch driver winning by a mammoth margin of 15 seconds from Kevin Korjus, and a further 24 seconds from David Fumanelli.

Pieter Schothorst, brother of Steijn, accumulated enough points in the Endurance race to secure first place in the standings.

He then completed his campaign by taking fourth in the Pro race.

Amateur champion Schiller ends season with win

In the Amateur race, Schiller, who had already clinched the title in the previous round, capped off the season in style by winning from pole position.

The German made brief contact with the wall on lap 8, but was able to continue to take his fourth sprint win of the season.

Rueda finished second in the sister Marc VDS entry, while V8 Racing’s Jelle Beelen was promoted to third after Blomstedt was disqualified for insufficient ballast on his car.

Previous article Bamber, Mortara head entry list for FIA GT World Cup
Next article Audi's Muller joins FIA GT World Cup line-up