Twenty cars for GT World Challenge Australia debut

A 20-car field has been confirmed this weekend's opening round of the new-look GT World Challenge Australia series at Phillip Island.

gt_phillip Island

The successor to the Australian GT Championship will welcome a trio of established Supercars stars at The Island, headlined by Jamie Whincup. The seven-time Supercars champ has been drafted into Triple Eight's line-up for the injured Shane van Gisbergen, and will share the team's Mercedes with Prince Jefri Ibrahim.

Triple Eight enduro driver Garth Tander will also be in action alongside Yasser Shahin in the The Bend-backed Audi, while Chaz Mostert will partner Tony Bates in another of Melbourne Performance Centre's R8s.

New Triple Eight part-owner and former Australian GT boss Tony Quinn is also among the field driving his Aston Martin, while Kelly Grove Racing part-owners Stephen and Brenton Grove will share their Porsche.

There will be eight different brands on the grid, with eight cars in the championship class, 11 in the trophy class, and a sole GT4 entry.

“Twenty cars for the return of top-line GT racing is a great result for the first event and I’m proud of the entrants who are getting back in their awesome cars and entertaining us all,” said category manager Collier.

“It actually looked like we were going to have even more than 20 cars, but a couple of teams withdrew late, so the good news there is that we know the interest is there for GT3 racing in Australia.

“With big events coming up soon at Mount Panorama and The Bend, I wouldn’t be surprised if we have over 25 cars entering sooner rather than later.

“And there’s a great calibre of drivers and cars there too. It’s almost too hard to predict who is going to win, so it’s going to make for some great viewing, whether you are at home watching the TV, or trackside at Phillip Island.”

# Entry Type Class Driver 1 Driver 2 Car
4 Champ Pro/Am Stephen Grove Brenton Grove Porsche 911 GT3 R
7 Champ Am Solo Tony Quinn   Aston Martin Vantage AMR
24 Champ Pro/Am Tony Bates Chaz Mostert Audi R8 LMS Evo
51 Champ Am/Am Andrew Macpherson Ben Porter Lamborghini Huracan Evo
88 Champ Am/Am Peter Edwards Adrian Deitz Ferrari 488 GT3
91 Champ Am Solo Arthur Abrahams   Audi R8 LMS Evo
777 Champ Pro/Am Yasser Shahin Garth Tander Audi R8 LMS Evo
888 Champ Pro/Am Prince Jefri Ibrahim Jamie Whincup Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo
19 GT4 Am Mark Griffith   Mercedes-AMG GT4
5 Trophy Am Greg Taylor   Audi R8 LMS
23 Trophy Am Solo Matt Stoupas   Audi R8 LMS
33 Trophy Am Solo Vince Muriti   Audi R8 LMS
38 Trophy Am Michael Bailey   Aston Martin V12 Vantage
47 Trophy Am Wayne Mack   Ferrari 458 GT3
55 Trophy Am Brad Schumacher   Audi R8 LMS Ultra
71 Trophy Am Dale Paterson   Chevrolet Camaro GT3
77 Trophy Am/Am Vince Tesoriero Bill Papadimitriou Audi R8 LMS Ultra
96 Trophy Am Brett Hobson   Nissan GT-R Nismo GT3
99 Trophy Am Nick Kelly   Audi R8 LMS Ultra
124 Trophy Am/Am Gary Higgon Paul Stokell Audi R8 LMS

New date for Phillip Island TCR/S5000 round

Lockdown casts doubt over Bathurst 6 Hour