Standings after Phoenix report

Theys keeps points lead in SRP. New leaders in GTS and American GT Classes. DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (April 23, 2002) -- The Rolex Sports Car Series released its latest point standings following last weekend's UnitedAuto 200 presented by...

Theys keeps points lead in SRP.
New leaders in GTS and American GT Classes.

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (April 23, 2002) -- The Rolex Sports Car Series released its latest point standings following last weekend's UnitedAuto 200 presented by at Phoenix International Raceway. Belgian Didier Theys maintained his lead in the premier SportsRacing Prototype class adding a second place finish to the three wins he had earlier. Race winners Chris Dyson and James Weaver are in second- and third-place, respectively. The team standings mirror the driver standings with Theys' Doran Lista Racing in first place followed by Dyson Racing Team's #16.

Terry Borcheller continues to lead the SportsRacing Prototype II driver standings with a 14-point lead over Darren Law. German Ralf Kelleners, Borcheller's co-driver, dropped in the points. He did not earn any points in Phoenix because the #8 Rand Racing Nissan Lola retired early, and he never got behind the wheel of the car. That allowed 2001 champion Andy Lally to jump from sixth place to third, while Kelleners sits in a three-way tie in fourth place with other Rand Racing drivers Anthony Lazzaro and Bill Rand. Rand Racing's #8 entry continues to lead the SRPII team standings, followed by G&W Motorsports/Momentum Motorcars 13 points back in second place.

Chris Bingham, the 2001 GTS driver champion, claimed the sole lead in the GTS driver standings after winning the class at the UnitedAuto 200. Bingham previously shared the top spot with Team Greeneman's Tommy Byrne and Richard Millman who now share second place in the standings. Bingham's Park Place Racing increased its lead in the team standings to seven points over Team Greenman.

The American GT class had the most lead changes following the UnitedAuto 200, but all were within the two-car Flis Motorsports team. 2001 champions Craig Conway and Doug Goad took the lead in the driver standings away from their teammate Michael Ciasulli who sat out the Phoenix race. Jim Briody, who joined the Flis team in Phoenix after running with ACP Motorsports at the start of the season, advanced to third place in the latest standings, only two points behind his new teammates. After capturing its third-straight AGT win, Flis' #90 entry moved past the team's #09 car to take a three-point lead in the team points race. Morgan Dollar Motorsports advanced to third place in the standings, taking a one-point advantage over the fourth-place ACP team.

Perspective Racing and its drivers Joao Barbosa and Thierry Perrier gained ground on Kevin Buckler and The Racer's Group in the GT points race. Buckler held onto the driver points lead, but Barbosa and Perrier cut his advantage from 12 points to eight with their second-place finish in Phoenix. The Racer's Group also stayed in front in the team point standings but saw its lead reduced to only two points by the Perspective team.

The Rolex Series manufacturer standings had no lead changes following the UnitedAuto 200. Judd and Dallara continue atop the SRP engine and chassis points, while Nissan and Lola extended their advantage in the SRPII standings. Saleen increased its lead over Porsche to 11 points in the GTS class. The GT points tightened up slightly following the BMW victory, but Porsche still holds a 12-point lead over Mosler and an 18-point lead over BMW. Chevy continues its dominance in the American GT class, increasing its lead to 38 points over Ford.

The UnitedAuto 200 presented by will be broadcast on SPEED Channel this Saturday at 5 p.m. ET, with an encore airing on Monday, April 29 at 2 p.m. ET. The next round of the Rolex Sports Car Series will be the 6 Hours of The Glen, part of the Sports Car Grand Prix at Watkins Glen International, June 21-23. Tickets are currently on sale and can be purchased online at or by calling 607-535-2481. More information on the Rolex Sports Car Series is available online at

-grand am-

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Grand-Am
Drivers Chris Bingham , James Weaver , Ralf Kelleners , Didier Theys , Michael Ciasulli , Kevin Buckler , Doug Goad , Andy Lally , Craig Conway , Terry Borcheller , Bill Rand , Darren Law , Joao Barbosa , Richard Millman , Chris Dyson , Thierry Perrier , Jim Briody
Teams Dyson Racing