Jordan Taylor leads Daytona Prototype qualifying at the Brickyard

Taylor captures the TOTAL Pole Award for Brickyard Grand Prix in the Wayne Taylor Racing Velocity Worldwide Corvette DP. Said, Long capture GT/GX Poles at Indianapolis. In CTSCC, Buford, McCumbee were the pole winners.

INDIANAPOLIS (July 25, 2013) – After struggling in Thursday’s practice at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Wayne Taylor Racing hit the setup jackpot in qualifying for Friday’s Brickyard Grand Prix. Jordan Taylor captured his third consecutive Daytona Prototype pole position, breaking the track record with a lap of 1 minute, 22.251 seconds (110.909 mph) in the No. 10 Velocity Worldwide Corvette DP.

He will be joined on the front row by Memo Rojas, who ran his final lap in 1:22.375 (110.742 mph) in the No. 01 Telcel/Telmex BMW/Riley co-driven by Scott Pruett. The race begins at 5:10 p.m. ET (SPEED, 7:30 p.m.).

“This is a very unique track, with a long front straight followed by a very technical section,” said Taylor. “We were worried when we were out of the top 10 during opening practice, but the team and [my co-driver] Max Angelelli kept working on the setup.”

Gustavo Yacaman qualified third in the No. 6 Aero/Tuvacol/Curb Records Ford/Riley co-driven by AJ Allmendinger, 1:22:455 (110.635 mph). Fourth was Christian Fittipaldi, 1:22.544 (110.516 mph), who joins Joao Barbosa in seeking a third consecutive victory in the No. 5 Action Express Racing Corvette DP. Action Express also leads the standings in the North American Endurance Championship presented by, entering its third and final round after races at Daytona and Watkins Glen.

Veteran Boris Said won his first pole of the season in GT, running a lap of 1:28.374 (103.225 mph) in the No. 31 Marsh Racing Corvette co-driven by Eric Curran.

“Everyone keeps saying how they’re going to keep their cool in the race, but this is Indianapolis,” Said explained. “When they drop the green flag tomorrow, it will be like 35 Doberman Pinschers with hand grenades in their mouths. Everyone will be fighting for position.”

Robin Liddell was second in the No. 57 Stevenson Auto Group Chevrolet Camaro co-driven by John Edwards, 1:28.917 (102.595 mph), falling short in a bid to give the team its fourth pole of the season. Audi driver Filipe Albuquerque was third, followed by Patrick Lindsey in a Porsche and Alessandro Balzan in a Ferrari.

Tom Long took his third pole of the season in the new GX class, running 1:33.156 (97.926 mph) in the No. 70 MAZDASPEED/SpeedSource Mazda 6 co-driven by Sylvain Tremblay.

In Continental Tire Sports Car Challenge preparation for Friday’s Brickyard Sports Car Challenge, Jade Buford continued to dominate Grand Sport qualifying in the No. 55 Multimatic Motorsport Aston Martin Vantage. Buford made it three in a row – and five in six qualifying sessions this season – winning the pole with a lap of 1:35.630 (95.39 mph). Hugh Plumb was second in the No. 45 Fall-Line Motorsports BMW M3, followed by 17-high school senior Trent Hindman, making his debut in the No. 48 Fall-Line Motorsports BMW M3, 1:35.899 (95.13 mph).

The CJ Wilson Racing team swept the front row in Street Tuner (ST) qualifying. Chad McCumbee took his second pole of the season with a lap of 1:40.580 (90.70 mph) in the team’s No. 3 Mazda MX-5, followed by teammate Stevan McAleer in the No. 5, 1:40.734 (90.559 mph).


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Grand-Am
Drivers Boris Said , Christian Fittipaldi , Scott Pruett , Wayne Taylor , Robin Liddell , Max Angelelli , Joao Barbosa , Sylvain Tremblay , Memo Rojas , Jordan Taylor , Eric Curran , Tom Long , Hugh Plumb , Alessandro Balzan , Chad McCumbee , Filipe Albuquerque , John Edwards , Patrick Lindsey , Jade Buford , Gustavo Yacaman , Trent Hindman , CJ Wilson , Stevan McAleer
Teams CJ Wilson , Fall-Line Motorsports , Action Express Racing , SpeedSource , Wayne Taylor Racing
Article type Qualifying report
Tags albuquerque, audi, buford, camaro, corvette, ctscc, liddell, long, mazda, mccumbee, rojas, said, taylor, wtr, yacaman