Driver standings tightens up after Watkins Glen

Daytona Prototype Driver Standings Tighten As Rolex Sports Car Series Heads Into Final Four Races Said Gains on Auberlen in GT; Bunting & Lally Increase SGS Lead DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (August 17, 2004) -- With three quarters of the 2004 Grand...

Daytona Prototype Driver Standings Tighten As Rolex Sports Car Series Heads Into Final Four Races
Said Gains on Auberlen in GT; Bunting & Lally Increase SGS Lead

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (August 17, 2004) -- With three quarters of the 2004 Grand American Rolex Sports Car Series season now in the books, the chase for the Daytona Prototype drivers championship has tightened considerably following the Sahlen's 200 at The Glen.

After failing to finish on the podium for the first time in the last six races, No. 01 CompUSA Chip Ganassi Racing Lexus Riley co-drivers Scott Pruett and Max Papis saw their lead shrink to 19 points (244-225) over No. 10 SunTrust Racing Pontiac Riley driver Wayne Taylor. While the No. 01 teammates finished fifth at The Glen, Taylor moved back into the third in the driver standings following a third place run.

CITGO Howard-Boss Motorsports Pontiac Crawford driver Andy Wallace fell one spot to fourth after he and teammate Tony Stewart suffered a flat tire on their No. 20 machine early in the Sahlen's 200 and finished eighth. Wallace now leads Didier Theys by 15 points (219-204) following the Belgian's victory alongside co-driver Jan Magnussen in the No. 27 Doran-Lista Racing Lexus Doran on Friday.

No. 2 CITGO Howard-Boss Motorsports driver Milka Duno is tied with Taylor's teammate, Max Angelelli, for sixth in the driver standings with 202 points. No. 02 CompUSA Chip Ganassi Racing Lexus Riley driver Jimmy Morales is eighth with 195 points, while 2003 Daytona Prototype champion Terry Borcheller, driver of the No. 54 Kodak Bell Motorsports Pontiac Doran is ninth (194 points). Cort Wagner--who drives the No. 81 G&W Motorsports BMW Doran--rounds out the top 10 with 190 points.

The No. 01 CompUSA Chip Ganassi Racing team continues to lead the team standings with a 19-point advantage over the No. 10 SunTrust Racing team (244-225). The No. 2 CITGO Howard-Boss team is third with 210 points. With the win last weekend, Lexus has taken a two-point lead over Pontiac in the engine manufacturer standings (266-264), while Porsche stands third with 196 points. With a victory at Watkins Glen, Doran moved to second in the chassis standings, trailing Riley by 20 points (257-237). Crawford is third with 232 points.

In the GT driver points race, No. 22 PTG BMW M3 driver Boris Said cut No. 21 PTG driver Bill Auberlen's lead in half with his and co-driver Joey Hand's class victory in the Sahlen's 200. Auberlen finished second and now leads Said by four points (253-249). The Racer's Group No. 66 Porsche GT3 RS co-drivers Ian James, RJ Valentine and Chris Gleason maintained their third-place position with 225 points.

Auberlen's co-driver in the No. 21 machine, Justin Marks, is sixth with 220 markers, while No. 44 Orbit Racing Porsche GT3 RS driver Mike Fitzgerald is seventh (217 points). Kevin Buckler, driver of the No. 67 The Racer's Group Porsche GT3 RS, is eighth with 206 points, and No. 33 Ferrari of Washington Maserati GT drivers Stephen Earle and Emil Assentato are tied for ninth with 193 markers.

The No. 21 PTG team continues to lead in the GT team standings with 253 points. The No. 66 The Racer's Group team ranks second with 229 points and the No. 44 Orbit Racing team is third with 217 points. In the manufacturer standings, BMW leads Porsche by eight points (259-251), while Maserati is third with 198.

Andy Lally and Marc Bunting, co-drivers of the No. 38 TPC Racing Porsche GT3 Cup, increased their Super Grand Sport driver co-points lead to 28 with their second-place finish in the Sahlen's 200. Lally and Bunting have finished on the podium in every race this year, and lead their TPC Racing teammate Michael Levitas, who drives the No. 36 Porsche, 255-227. Following his SGS class win in the Sahlen's 200 at The Glen, John Littlechild, driver of the No. 37 TPC Racing Porsche, moved to fourth in the class point standings with 225 points. Wayne Nonnamaker, driver of the No. 42 ORISON-Planet Earth Porsche GT3 Cup, is fifth with 215 points.

Joe Nonnamaker, driver of the No. 43 ORISON-Planet Earth Motorsports machine, is sixth with 210 points, followed by No. 47 Michael Baughman Racing Porsche GT3 Cup driver Bob Ward in seventh with 191 markers. Ward's teammate, Michael Baughman currently stands eighth with 186 points, followed by Levitas' No. 36 co-driver Randy Pobst in ninth with 174 points. Jean-Francois Dumoulin rounds out the top 10 with 170 points.

In the SGS team standings, the No. 38 TPC Racing team ranks first with 255 points with the No. 41 ORISON-Planet Earth team second with 219 markers and the No. 36 TPC Racing team in third with 195. Porsche continues to dominate in the SGS manufacturer race with a 120-point lead over Chevrolet (277-157). Ferrari is third with 42 points.

The next event on the 2004 Grand American Rolex Sports Car Series calendar is the Miami 250 at Homestead-Miami Speedway on Sunday, September 12. Tickets are currently available by calling 866-409-RACE or by visiting

The Grand American Road Racing Association, which sanctions the Rolex Sports Car Series and the Grand-Am Cup Series, is one of the fastest growing motorsports organizations in the United States. Established in 1999, Grand American's stated goal is to bring stability to professional sports car road racing in North America. The 12-race 2004 Rolex Series schedule and the 10-race Grand-Am Cup Series calendars deliver professional sports car racing to many key markets throughout North America in addition to being televised in the United States and Canada on SPEED Channel and distributed globally through ESPN International. With title sponsorship support from Rolex Watch USA, the Rolex Sports Car Series showcases emerging and legendary drivers from around the globe and thoroughbred racing machines from the industry's leading constructors and the world's top automobile manufacturers. Learn more about Grand American at


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Grand-Am
Drivers Andy Wallace , Milka Duno , Tony Stewart , Jan Magnussen , Boris Said , Didier Theys , Max Papis , Wayne Taylor , Bill Auberlen , Stephen Earle , Randy Pobst , Kevin Buckler , Wayne Nonnamaker , Joe Nonnamaker , Ian James , Andy Lally , Terry Borcheller , Max Angelelli , Justin Marks , Chris Gleason , Jean-Francois Dumoulin , Michael Levitas , Michael Baughman , Marc Bunting , Chip Ganassi , Bob Ward , Cort Wagner
Teams Chip Ganassi Racing