Daytona24: MAZDASPEED post race report

MAZDASPEED Wins Daytona 24 Hour For 23rd Time; Mazda places three RX-8's in top-ten to kick off 2010 season January 31, 2010 (Daytona Beach, Fla.). With 22 class wins in the annual Rolex 24 at Daytona, expectations were high in the Mazda ...

MAZDASPEED Wins Daytona 24 Hour For 23rd Time; Mazda places three RX-8's in top-ten to kick off 2010 season

January 31, 2010 (Daytona Beach, Fla.). With 22 class wins in the annual Rolex 24 at Daytona, expectations were high in the Mazda camp. The key is in total preparation and maintaining focus for 24 hours under extreme pressure. The 2010 race covered all of the highs and lows of racing. The Mazda cars swept the top three positions in qualifying before running into a variety of minor problems and old fashioned bad luck in the early hours. Perseverance by the Castrol Syntec SpeedSource RX-8 #70 team of Sylvain Tremblay, David Haskell, Nick Ham, and Jonathan Bomarito resulted in a come from behind win.

The SpeedSource team started the race in third place, but lost a lap when a caution flag came out after they had pitted. They lost another six laps after being hit by a Daytona Prototype (DP) car approximately 8 hours into the race. The team spent the next ten hours methodically moving up the charts until taking the lead at lap 563 in the 20th hour. They held the lead to the end, completing 707 laps of the 3.56 mile Daytona circuit for a total distance of over 2,500 miles.

"The SpeedSource team lived up to the MAZDASPEED spirit of 'The Will To Never Give Up'. Thanks to the entire team from drivers to the shop guys who built the cars, to the support crew. As soon as the checker flag dropped, we were flooded with e-mails, phone calls, text messages, and twitters congratulating the team. The RX-8 rotary power was flawless, and our bad luck in the early hours was countered by others having issues later in the race. Even when SpeedSource took the lead on lap 563 there was no celebration -- just a resetting of the deck with a race still to win."

"Everyone at Mazda in North America. and Japan is proud of our association with the Castrol Syntec SpeedSource team. This is their second win at Daytona and the 23rd for Mazda and is dedicated our dealers and 9,000 club racers. They are the heart and soul of our operation. Now that our season has begun we are looking forward to a year-long battle for the Grand-Am GT Manufacturers Championship," noted Robert Davis, Senior Vice President, Product Development and Quality, and the man responsible for Mazda's North American motorsports operations under the MAZDASPEED Motorsports Development banner.

In addition to the winning Castrol Syntec RX-8, Mazda was represented by a strong line-up of teams. These teams will allow Mazda to launch their most aggressive challenge for the Grand-Am GT manufacturers championship.

Grand-Am GT Rolex 24 at Daytona -- Car by Car Summary

30 Racers Edge RX-8
Drivers: Glenn Bocchino/Jade Buford/John Edwards/Todd Lamb/Jordan Taylor
Qualified: 2nd Finished: 28th
Notes: Jordan Taylor led in the early green flag laps. Todd Lamb spun without damage. The team spent over an hour behind the pit wall repairing a broken bolt in the engine before retiring at lap 69.

40 Dempsey Racing RX-8
Drivers: Patrick Dempsey/Charles Espenlaub/Joe Foster/Scott Maxwell
Qualified: 15th Finished: 6th
Notes: A great performance by the Dempsey Racing team moving from 20th early in the race to finish 6th.

41 Dempsey Racing/Team Seattle RX-8
Drivers: James Gue/Leh Keen/Don Kitch Jr./David Lacey
Qualified: 9th Finished: 14th
Notes: On-track debris caused radiator damage resulting in a length repair behind pit wall. The Team Seattle effort was their annual charity fundraiser for the Seattle Children's Hospital.

42 Team Sahlen RX-8
Drivers: Joe Nonnamaker/Wayne Nonnamaker/Will Nonnamaker/Joe Sahlen
Qualified: 25th Finished: 29th
Notes: The team used the first hour of the race as a race condition test before parking the car to concentrate on the #43 entry.

43 Team Sahlen RX-8
Joe Nonnamaker/Wayne Nonnamaker/Will Nonnamaker/Joe Sahlen
Qualified: 14th Finished: 7th
Notes: A solid run by the Nonnamakers and Sahlen family team. They were in a head-to-head battle with the #40 RX-8 in the closing laps missing 6th place by less than three seconds.

69 FXDD SpeedSource RX-8
Emil Assentato/Anthony Lazzaro/Nick Longhi/Jeff Segal
Qualified: 1st Finished: 16th
Notes: Led opening six laps. A spin on lap 159 required a tow-in losing four laps. Retired after 488 laps with a coolant leak.

70 Castrol Syntec SpeedSource RX-8
Jonathan Bomarito/Nick Ham/David Haskell/Sylvain Tremblay
Qualified: 3rd Finished: 1st

-source: mazdaspeed motorsports

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Grand-Am
Drivers Joey Foster , Emil Assentato , Nick Longhi , Anthony Lazzaro , Scott Maxwell , Wayne Nonnamaker , Will Nonnamaker , Joe Nonnamaker , David Haskell , James Gue , Sylvain Tremblay , Jordan Taylor , Charles Espenlaub , Don Kitch Jr. , Jonathan Bomarito , Jeff Segal , Glenn Bocchino , Nick Ham , Lehman Keen , Joe Sahlen , Patrick Dempsey , Robert Davis , John Edwards , Todd Lamb , Jade Buford
Teams Team Sahlen , SpeedSource