Chevrolet wins 2012 Rolex Series engine Manufacturers’ Championship

LAKEVILLE, Conn – Chevrolet has won the 2012 GRAND-AM Rolex Series Engine Manufacturers’ Championship. Today’s win by SunTrust Racing in the season finale at Lime Rock Park capped the championship-winning effort by the five Corvette Daytona Prototype teams.

#90 Spirit of Daytona Racing Corvette DP: Antonio Garcia, Richard Westbrook
#90 Spirit of Daytona Racing Corvette DP: Antonio Garcia, Richard Westbrook

Photo by: Greg Nichols

"Chevrolet is honored to have won the 2012 Engine Manufacturers' Championship in the GRAND-AM Rolex Series,” said Jim Campbell, US Vice President Performance Vehicles and Motorsports.

“This accomplishment, in the debut season of the Corvette Daytona Prototype, is the result of the dedication and hard work of our team owners, crews and drivers, along with that of our technical partners.”

On the way to winning the coveted title, Chevrolet’s Corvette Daytona Prototype teams and drivers won eight of the 13 races held during 2012 season.

"Our partners at Earnhardt-Childress Racing put forth an extraordinary effort building the engines for all of our Chevrolet Corvette Daytona Prototype teams that culminated in this championship,” said Mark Kent, Director, Chevrolet Racing.

“With the technical support Pratt and Miller provides, as well at the expertise and input from GM Racing Powertrains, Chevrolet Racing in the Rolex Series has accomplished a great deal this season.

We are very proud of this achievement, and thank everyone involved for their dedication."

The Chevrolet Corvette Daytona Prototype team and driver roster that contributed to Chevrolet capturing the Series’ Engine Manufacturers’ title are: Action Express Racing (two cars) – David Donahue, Terry Borcheller, Darren Law, Joao Barbosa and Paul Tracy; GAINSCO/Bob Stallings Racing – Jon Fogarty and Alex Gurney; Spirit of Daytona Racing – Richard Westbrook, Antonio Garcia and Michael Valiante and SunTrust Racing – Max Angelelli and Ricky Taylor.

"Congratulations to our Chevrolet teams and all of our technical partners on winning the 2012 GRAND-AM Rolex Series Engine Manufacturers' Championship,” remarked Jim Lutz, Chevrolet Program Manager, GRAND-AM Road Racing.

“The level of cooperation and dedication among our Corvette Daytona Prototype teams, in addition to the tremendous support from our technical partners were the key components of this championship-winning effort.

I am very proud of the contributions made by everyone involved in this program, and celebrate this achievement for Team Chevy."

Chevrolet Racing will return to GRAND-AM competition in 2013 beginning with the 51st running of the Rolex 24 Hour at Daytona International Speedway on January 26-27, 2013.


  • Barber Motorsports Park – Spirit of Daytona Racing
  • Homestead-Miami Speedway – SunTrust Racing
  • New Jersey Motorsports Park – SunTrust Racing
  • Streets of Belle Isle-Detroit – No. 9 Action Express Racing
  • Mid Ohio Sports Car Course – Spirit of Daytona Racing
  • Watkins Glen International – No. 9 Action Express Racing
  • Laguna Seca Raceway – Spirit of Daytona Racing
  • Lime Rock Park – SunTrust Racing

Source: Team Chevy

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Grand-Am
Drivers Alex Gurney , Antonio Garcia , Paul Tracy , Jon Fogarty , Michael Valiante , Terry Borcheller , Darren Law , Max Angelelli , Joao Barbosa , Bob Stallings , Jim Campbell , Richard Westbrook , Ricky Taylor
Teams Action Express Racing
Article type Race report
Tags chevrolet, corvette daytona, grandam, lime rock, rolex series