2010 Snodgrass Award of Excellence candidates named

LIST OF 2010 ROLEX BOB SNODGRASS AWARD OF EXCELLENCE CANDIDATES NARROWED DOWN TO FOUR ROCHESTER, N.Y. (Aug. 4, 2010) - John Gorsline, principal of The Gorsline Company, announced today that the list of candidates for the 2010 Rolex Bob...


ROCHESTER, N.Y. (Aug. 4, 2010) - John Gorsline, principal of The Gorsline Company, announced today that the list of candidates for the 2010 Rolex Bob Snodgrass Award of Excellence presented by The Gorsline Company has been narrowed down to four highly-successful team owners competing in the 2010 Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series.

Chip Ganassi - owner of Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates - with as many as three Daytona Prototype teams competing in the endurance events, Ganassi Racing has scored six wins, eight top-fives and nine top-10s so far. Drivers include Scott Pruett, Memo Rojas, Scott Dixon, Dario Franchitti, Juan Pablo Montoya, Jamie McMurray, Justin Wilson and Max Papis. Rojas and Pruett are tied for the lead in DP class points. Ganassi Racing leads team point standings.

Michael Shank - owner of Michael Shank Racing - with two DP teams under its umbrella, Michael Shank Racing has collected six top-five finishes and 16 top-10s. Drivers include Ozz Negri, John Pew, Brian Frisselle, Mchael Valiante, Mark Patterson and A.J. Allmendinger. The team is fourth in team standings.

Bob Stallings - owner of Gainsco Racing/Bob Stallings Racing - competing with one DP team, has earned one win, four top-fives and eight top-10s so far. Drivers include Jon Fogarty, Alex Gurney, Jimmy Vasser and Jimmie Johnson. Gainsco Racing is third in team standings.

Wayne Taylor - owner of Wayne Taylor Racing - campaigning one DP team (SunTrust Racing), Wayne Taylor Racing has collected one win, five top-fives and nine top-10s so far this season. Drivers include Max Angelelli, Ricky Taylor, Pedro Lamy and Wayne Taylor. Team is second in team points.

This inaugural award, a Rolex Stainless Steel and Platinum Yacht-Master timepiece, specially engraved with the words "The Rolex Bob Snodgrass Award of Excellence," was announced at the end of the 2009 and will be presented at the completion of the 2010 Grand-Am season to the team owner or team manager who has demonstrated the qualities of integrity, passion for the sport and the love of cars that have been synonymous with the late Bob Snodgrass throughout his life and career.

It will be presented in perpetuity and supported by The Gorsline Company, the premier insurer of high-risk professionals. A blue-ribbon panel of motorsports professionals will make the final selection.

"There are a number of highly-qualified and successful team owners and managers competing in the Grand-Am Series who exemplify Bob's outstanding qualities," said Gorsline. "The panel has evaluated the conduct and racing results of all the teams in the series and has finalized the list of the top four. One of these team owners will be named the recipient of this inaugural award at the Rolex Grand Marshal in the Bill France Room at Daytona USA, an annual gathering that kicks off the Rolex 24 At Daytona and the 2011 season."

About Bob Snodgrass:
Snodgrass passed away in 2007 at the age of 64. He was president of Brumos Racing, and president and CEO of the Brumos auto dealerships in Jacksonville, Fla., where he lived for 35 years. As a team owner he has three Rolex 24 At Daytona wins (Brumos Racing has eight) and a total of 10 wins at Daytona. He was a driving force behind the formation of the Grand American Road Racing Association and the Daytona Prototype class. Born in Elmira, N.Y., he saw his first race at Watkins Glen, N.Y., and was hooked. Famous for his humor and wit and an accomplished vintage-car racer, Snodgrass, with Peter Gregg, who owned Brumos Porsche from 1965 until his death in 1980, were instrumental in Brumos' entry into motorsports.

About Rolex and Motorsports:
Rolex has been Official Timekeeper for 24 Hours of Le Mans since 2001 and Title Sponsor of the Rolex 24 At Daytona in North America since 1992. In 1965, Rolex added the name Daytona to the dial of its Cosmograph line in tribute to this great race at the International Speedway. Ever since then, the presence of the Rolex brand in automobile racing has grown steadily.

Rolex supports the tradition of auto racing through events that celebrate design, speed and passion including the Goodwood Revival (UK), the Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion (USA), the Pebble Beach Tour D'Elegance presented by Rolex (USA) and the Pebble Beach Concours D'Elegance and The Quail: A Motorsports Gathering (USA). Rolex affiliation also extends to three key figures in the sport: Sir Jackie Stewart from Scotland, one of the greatest drivers of his generation, American Roger Penske, a former driver turned successful businessman and owner of the team Penske Racing, and Danish driver Tom Kristensen, record eight-time winner of the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

About The Gorsline Company:
The Gorsline Company, headquartered in Rochester New York, pioneered the business of providing insurance for high-risk professionals. The company specializes in providing racing drivers and owners creative, custom designed insurance packages and estate planning strategies.

-source: gorsline company

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Grand-Am
Drivers Juan Pablo Montoya
Teams Chip Ganassi Racing , Team Penske , Chip Ganassi Racing , Wayne Taylor Racing , Michael Shank Racing
Tags grand-am, snodgrrass