13 Models, 12 Manufacturers eligible for new GX Class in 2013

Competitors looking to participate in GRAND-AM’s newest race category will have 10 new models from nine manufacturers to choose from, based on the list of cars eligible for the new GX class in the Rolex Sports Car Series.

Grand Am Rolex Series signage
Grand Am Rolex Series signage

Photo by: Eric Gilbert

Earlier this year, GRAND-AM announced the new class to allow for cars and technologies currently not involved in the Rolex Series, that will debut in the 2013 Rolex 24 At Daytona.

Eligible cars already announced for the class were the Lotus Evora GX, Porsche Cayman, and Mazda with the Skyactiv-D turbo diesel in a model to be determined.

GRAND-AM today expanded that list to 13 models from 12 different manufacturers, adding the Audi TT, BMW 1 Series, Chevrolet Cruze, Ford Focus (four door), Hyundai Genesis, Subaru BRZ, Scion FR-S, Nissan 370Z or Altima, and Volkswagen EOS.

GX will join the Daytona Prototype and GT classes at all Rolex Series races. Rules are being developed to allow for the exploration of a wide variety of alternative technologies and alternative fuels. This could include turbocharged engines; fuels other than gasoline, such as clean diesels; and hybrid powertrains.

The class will be developed with performance levels that complement the current DP and GT classes. No changes to GT performance levels are expected.

Source: Grand-Am Road Racing

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Grand-Am
Drivers Eric Gilbert
Article type Breaking news
Tags altima, audi, bmw, chevrolet, evora, ford, grand-am, hyundai, lotus, mazda, nissan, porsche, rolex, sicon, subaru, volkswagen