Silverstone GP3: Ceccon controls sprint race for maiden win

Arden International's Kevin Ceccon picked up a long-overdue first win in GP3 with a measured drive in the Silverstone sprint race.

Ceccon, whose previous best result in GP3 was a Monte Carlo podium for the now-defunct Ocean team in 2012, took first place into Turn 1 and led from there to the chequered flag.

Jenzer's rookie Ralph Boschung, who had secured a second consecutive sprint race pole with an eight place yesterday, was slow off the line, with both Ceccon and ART's Esteban Ocon overtaking him before the first corner.

Ocon then briefly challenged for the lead of the race, but couldn't find a way past Ceccon and soon allowed the Italian to go a second in the clear.

Further down in the points, Saturday winner Marvin Kirchhofer was getting swarmed, first passed by Emil Bernstorff and then cleared by Matt Parry and Luca Ghiotto, which shuffled him down to eighth place.

Bernstorff then tried to pass Jimmy Eriksson round the outside for fourth, but ended up running wide and allowing Parry through instead.

Meanwhile, Ceccon ramped up the pace in clean air, posting two successive fastest laps to edge two seconds clear of Ocon.

The Italian managed the gap from that point on, comfortably bringing the car home at the end of the 15-lap race.

With Ocon returning to the podium in second, Boschung held station to claim his maiden GP3 podium and his team's first of 2015.

Eriksson survived a lengthy battle with teammate Parry to keep fourth, while Bernstorff, Ghiotto and Kirchhofer completed the points.

Pos  Driver  Team  Time/Gap 
Kevin Ceccon Arden International 27'30.411 
Esteban Ocon ART Grand Prix 1.533
Ralph Boschung Jenzer Motorsport 7.140
Jimmy Eriksson Koiranen GP 8.076
Matt Parry Koiranen GP 8.528
Emil Bernstorff Arden International 9.279
Luca Ghiotto Trident 9.656
M.Kirchhofer ART Grand Prix 12.103
Matheo Tuscher Jenzer Motorsport 14.429
10  Oscar Tunjo Trident 15.680
11  Alfonso Celis ART Grand Prix 19.343
12  Seb Morris Status Grand Prix 22.623
13  Alex Palou Campos Racing 22.996
14  Adderly Fong Koiranen GP 23.663
15  J.Mardenborough Carlin 24.046
16  Alex Bosak Arden International 27.223
17  Artur Janosz Trident 28.413
18  Alex Fontana Status Grand Prix 28.703
19  Pal Varhaug Jenzer Motorsport 28.891
20  Sandy Stuvik Status Grand Prix 30.377
21  Mitchell Gilbert Carlin 31.868
22  Zaid Ashkanani Campos Racing 36.829
23  Antonio Fuoco Carlin 37.730
24  C.Hoher Campos Racing 41.260


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series GP3
Event Silverstone
Track Silverstone
Drivers Kevin Ceccon
Teams Arden International
Article type Race report