F3 and Formula Renault frontrunners headline GP3 test entry list

The GP3 Series has unveiled the entry list for the first day of its post-season test at the Yas Marina Circuit.

The 23-name list for Wednesday, the opening day of the three-day test, features several series regulars along with drivers from Formula 3, Formula 4 and Formula Renault 2.0 categories.

Championship-winning team ART Grand Prix will field its 2016 regular Nirei Fukuzumi alongside Formula Renault 2.0 frontrunner Max Defourny and F3 top-liner George Russell, who is heavily tipped to be joining GP3 with the French squad next year.

ART will also run Renault junior Jack Aitken, who finished fifth in his rookie GP3 season with Arden.

Trident, the only other team to have entered four cars for the test day, will run one of its current drivers in Ferrari protege Giuliano Alesi, who is staying with the team for next year.

It will also field F3 regular Ryan Tveter, GP3 podium finisher Arjun Maini and Brazilian F3's Pedro Cardoso, who had done post-season testing with Campos' GP3 outfit last year.

Arden will field Red Bull junior Niko Kari along with British F3 champion Matheus Leist and ex-Lotus F1 protege Dorian Boccolacci, of F3 and Formula Renault 2.0 fame.

SMP-backed Russian driver Robert Shwartzman will test for Koiranen on the heels of his rookie season in FR2.0, with British F3's Tarun Reddy and Pro Mazda runner-up Patricio O'Ward also named in the line-up.

Jenzer will enter FR2.0 regular Bruno Baptista, Italian F4 champion Marcos Siebert and European F3 race winner Alessio Lorandi, who saw out the GP3 campaign with the Swiss team.

Campos' Euroformula Open champion Leonardo Pulcini will test with the GP3 wing of the team, alongside FR2.0 driver Julien Falchero and British F4 frontrunner Petro Florescu.

Finally, DAMS will field its 2016 regular Santino Ferrucci, who is mentored by Haas, along with former BRDC F4 ace Raoul Hyman and Campos GP3 driver Steijn Schothorst.

Day 1 Line-up

Team Drivers
ART Grand Prix

 Jack Aitken
 Max Defourny
 Nirei Fukuzumi
 George Russell
Arden International

 Dorian Boccolacci
 Niko Kari
 Matheus Leist

 Giuliano Alesi
 Pedro Cardoso
 Arjun Maini
 Ryan Tveter
DAMS  Santino Ferrucci
 Raoul Hyman
 Steijn Schothorst
Koiranen GP  Patricio O'Ward
 Tarun Reddy
 Robert Shwartzman
Jenzer Motorsport  Bruno Baptista
 Alessio Lorandi
 Marcos Siebert
Campos Racing  Julien Falchero
 Petru Florescu
 Leonardo Pulcini

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series GP3
Drivers Ryan Tveter , Raoul Hyman , Jack Aitken , Steijn Schothorst , Santino Ferrucci , Tarun Reddy , George Russell , Patricio O'Ward , Giuliano Alesi , Arjun Maini , Alessio Lorandi , Dorian Boccolacci , Julien Falchero , Matheus Leist , Bruno Baptista , Max Defourny , Leonardo Pulcini , Niko Kari , Nirei Fukuzumi , Robert Shwartzman , Marcos Siebert
Article type Breaking news