Bahrain GP3: Ocon takes points lead with pole position

Esteban Ocon took the GP3 Series championship lead after snatching pole position for race one at Bahrain and the four points that go with it.

ART Grand Prix driver Ocon, who came into the weekend two points behind leader Luca Ghiotto, secured the top spot by an impressive 0.504s.

Arden’s Emil Bernstorff set the early pace on 1m47.806s, but was quickly toppled from P1 by Trident’s Ghiotto on 1m47.677s. Ocon was third-fastest at that point.

Russian racer Matevos Isaakyan then caused a red flag after 10mins, the Formula Renault 2.0 frontrunner stopping at Turn 10.

At the resumption, Kevin Ceccon leapt to third, 0.148s off the pole time.

In the closing moments, Alex Palou rocketed to the top of the times on 1m47.218s, just 0.041s ahead of Marvin Kirchhofer.

Ghiotto improved to 1m47.307s, which was only good enough for third, before Ocon jumped to the top on 1m46.684s – over half a second clear of his rivals.

Ceccon improved to 1m47.197s to go second, but Ghiotto beat him by 0.009s, snatching a front row spot at the chequered flag.

The title rivals will thus start alongside each other for Friday afternoon’s race one.

Palou will start fourth, ahead of Kirchhofer, Artur Janosz, Bernstorff and Jann Mardenborough.

Pos. Driver Team Time Gap
1  Esteban Ocon ART Grand Prix 1:46.684  
2  Luca Ghiotto Trident 1:47.188 0.504
3  Kevin Ceccon Arden International 1:47.197 0.513
4  Alex Palou Campos Racing 1:47.218 0.534
5  Marvin Kirchhofer ART Grand Prix 1:47.259 0.575
6  Artur Janosz Trident 1:47.618 0.934
7  Emil Bernstorff Arden International 1:47.663 0.979
8  Jann Mardenborough Carlin 1:47.686 1.002
9  Jimmy Eriksson Koiranen GP 1:47.713 1.029
10  Antonio Fuoco Carlin 1:47.833 1.149
11  Alex Fontana Status Grand Prix 1:47.944 1.260
12  Ralph Boschung Jenzer Motorsport 1:47.947 1.263
13  Mitchell Gilbert Carlin 1:47.954 1.270
14  Alfonso Celis ART Grand Prix 1:48.103 1.419
15  Pal Varhaug Jenzer Motorsport 1:48.109 1.425
16  Seb Morris Status Grand Prix 1:48.265 1.581
17  Michele Beretta Trident 1:48.290 1.606
18  Matt Parry Koiranen GP 1:48.304 1.620
19  Matheo Tuscher Jenzer Motorsport 1:48.314 1.630
20  Aleksander Bosak Arden International 1:48.359 1.675
21  Matevos Isaakyan Koiranen GP 1:48.576 1.892
22  Zaid Ashkanani Campos Racing 1:48.775 2.091
23  Sandy Stuvik Status Grand Prix 1:48.815 2.131
24  Konstantin Tereshchenko Campos Racing 1:48.946 2.262


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series GP3
Event Bahrain
Track Bahrain International Circuit
Drivers Esteban Ocon , Luca Ghiotto
Article type Qualifying report