Travis Pastrana is wrecked out of X Games competition

Eric Mauk

Travis Pastrana's X Games lasted about 100 feet before he got drilled into the wall

Travis Pastrana was more fortunate than his Global Rally Cross competitors Marcus Gronholm and Toomas Heikkinen in today’s heats for the GRC event at the 2012 X Games – but not by much.

Pastrana not only failed to make the upcoming GRC final for Sunday night, he never got to make more than one turn in his Dodge Dart. The action-sports legend had the pole for the last of the day’s four heats, taking the inside line at a starting grid that features a short straight leading into a tight right-hand turn.

The Subaru pilot got a great start ahead of second qualifier Andy Scott, but Scott tried to make up the deficit by going through Pastrana’s Subaru. Scott piledrove Pastrana into the outside wall, setting up a roadblock that collected all four of the cars in the heat. Pastrana’s car was damaged beyond repair, leaving him unable to move into the last-change qualifier and left him out of the 10-car final.

“Who the hell hit me?” Pastrana demanded of his crew chief after the impact.”Everybody was braking and I got hit like a Mack truck. We had the best car, we were on pole and we get taken out.”

Eight-time World Rally Champion Sebastien Loeb dominated his heat ahead of Tanner Foust to move to the final, while Sverre Isachsen came from the far outside at the start to take the lead in the first corner on his way to a heat win ahead of a fierce charge from Brian Deegan. Samuel Hubinette beat Ken Block by 5.8 seconds as both drivers moved on to the final.

The 0.7-mile rally cross course saw some modifications today after a pair of accidents that sent Gronholm and Heikkinen to the hospital yesterday. The gap in the jump where Heikkinen came up short was covered so the gap at the top of the ramp was eliminated, while the concrete post that claimed Gronholm has now been lined with a tire wall.

The final of the event will take place later tonight on ESPN.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Global Rallycross
Drivers Marcus Gronholm , Sébastien Loeb , Travis Pastrana , Ken Block , Tanner Foust , Brian Deegan , Samuel Hubinette , Sverre Isachsen , Andy Scott , Toomas Heikkinen
Article type Qualifying report
Tags block, deegan, featured, global rally cross, loeb, mauk, pastrana, rally, x games