Scott Speed wins first leg of Red Bull Global Rallycross Los Angeles doubleheader

Speed is the series' only multiple winner in the Supercar class this year.

Scott Speed converted a nearly flawless set of qualifying rounds into his third victory of the 2014 Red Bull Global Rallycross season in Saturday's Red Bull GRC Los Angeles main event, held at the Port of Los Angeles in San Pedro, CA. Speed, the series' only multiple winner in the Supercar class this year, won all three of his heats and held off a hard-charging Joni Wiman and Ken Block for the victory.

"So far this Polo has been quite reliable," said Speed, who used teammate Tanner Foust's former car as Foust debuted the Beetle in the event. "We've had no problems so far this weekend, knock on wood. Hopefully that continues for the rest of the races, and for sure that will give us a shot at the championship."

But it's been tough racing with these guys, we've all been battling really hard.

Ken Block

The result, combined with Nelson Piquet Jr.'s failure to advance to a main event for the first time this season, greatly scrambled the championship standings. Block and Piquet are tied for the Supercar lead, with Block's win in Charlotte the tiebreaker, while Speed is within two points and Wiman only 10 off of the lead.

"It's been a fun championship so far—I've had a good run lately," said Block, whose four consecutive podiums is the longest active streak in the class. "I'm really bummed for Nelson, that's not a good way to get knocked off the top step.

"But it's been tough racing with these guys, we've all been battling really hard. We all got some good points, and now it tightens everything up and makes everything real interesting going into the final three races."

Foust's debut in the Beetle was cut short after eight of 10 laps in the final, when he pulled the car to a halt with smoke billowing from the engine bay. Meanwhile, the return of Travis Pastrana saw him take a heat victory on Friday, followed by a sixth place finish.

GRC Lites

In GRC Lites, Kevin Eriksson took advantage of a fantastic start to earn his second victory of the season, holding off championship leader and Olsbergs MSE teammate Mitchell DeJong. Kevin Hansen, making his debut in the United States after winning the Swedish championship earlier this month, rounded out the podium.

Full results of Red Bull Global Rallycross Los Angeles (I)


  1. Scott Speed, #77 Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross Polo R
  2. Joni Wiman, #31 Olsbergs MSE Ford Fiesta ST
  3. Ken Block, #43 Hoonigan Racing Division Ford Fiesta ST
  4. Rhys Millen, #67 Hyundai/Rhys Millen Racing Veloster Turbo
  5. Patrik Sandell, #18 Olsbergs MSE Ford Fiesta ST
  6. Travis Pastrana, #199 Subaru Rally Team USA WRX STI
  7. Steve Arpin, #00 Royal Purple Racing/OMSE2 Ford Fiesta
  8. Tanner Foust, #34 Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross Beetle
  9. Austin Dyne, #14 Barracuda Racing Ford Fiesta
  10. Sverre Isachsen, #11 Subaru Rally Team USA WRX STI
  11. Bucky Lasek, #81 Subaru Rally Team USA WRX STI
  12. Nelson Piquet Jr., #07 SH Racing Rallycross Ford Fiesta ST
  13. Emma Gilmour, #27 Hyundai/Rhys Millen Racing Veloster Turbo

GRC Lites

  1. Kevin Eriksson, #96 Olsbergs MSE
  2. Mitchell DeJong, #24 Olsbergs MSE
  3. Kevin Hansen, #81 Red Bull Hansen Junior Team
  4. Geoff Sykes, #6 DTV Solutions
  5. Austin Cindric, #77 C4 Motorsports
  6. Tyler Benson, #60 Hyundai/Rhys Millen Racing
  7. Alejandro Fernandez, #126 Olsbergs MSE/AF Racing 126

Red Bull GRC

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Global Rallycross
Drivers Rhys Millen , Nelson Piquet Jr. , Travis Pastrana , Scott Speed , Ken Block , Bucky Lasek , Patrik Sandell , Steve Arpin , Tanner Foust , Emma Gilmour , Sverre Isachsen , Austin Cindric , Mitchell DeJong , Austin Dyne , Joni Wiman , Kevin Eriksson , Geoff Sykes , Tyler Benson , Alejandro Fernandez
Article type Race report