Scott Speed crowned 2015 GRC champion

Volkswagen Andretti driver Scott Speed wrapped up the 2015 Global Rallycross title in the Las Vegas season finale.

Former F1 driver Speed entered the final round with a sizeable advantage over teammate and only title rival Tanner Foust, who had won the series in 2011 and 2012.

While Foust was involved in an incident early on in the final race, Speed finished third - claiming his seventh podium from the last eight rounds.

"What a great way to win here, with all the climate issues and all the drama,” Speed said, referring to the wet-weather conditions that prevailed during the showdown.

“It really feels great for the team because we came from so far back in points. I’m super happy for Volkswagen Andretti to bring home this championship!"

Speed's GRC triumph - in a series run by his former employers Red Bull - is his first title since 2004, when he won the Formula Renault 2000 Eurocup along with the German crown.

First win for Wiman

GRC's 2014 champion Joni Wiman had eight series podiums to his name heading into the 2015 season finale, but remained winless.

The Finn was in with a great chance to break that streak in Las Vegas, having won the first semifinal with a last-lap overtake.

Despite having been passed by Speed in the main event, Wiman retook the spot and went on to claim his first win, while fellow Scandinavian driver Sebastian Eriksson took second.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Global Rallycross
Event GRC: Las Vegas
Drivers Scott Speed , Tanner Foust , Joni Wiman , Sebastian Eriksson
Teams Andretti Autosport , Olsbergs MSE
Article type Breaking news