SuperBike Results -St-Eustache

TAYLOR TAKES HIS SECOND Autodrome St-Eustache // July 12, 1998 Contact: John Hopkins at (416) 962-7223. ST-EUSTACHE, QC - Don Mills, ON's Michael Taylor became the first repeat race winner of this season's Toyota Canada Superbike...


Autodrome St-Eustache // July 12, 1998 Contact: John Hopkins at (416) 962-7223.

ST-EUSTACHE, QC - Don Mills, ON's Michael Taylor became the first repeat race winner of this season's Toyota Canada Superbike Championship with a victory in Sunday's Suzuki Superbike Challenge at Autodrome St-Eustache.

Taylor took his Kawasaki ZX-9R past the Kawasaki ZX-7RR of teammate Don Munroe on lap 4 of the 20-lap race and survived a couple of strong challenges from the defending series champion to take a 2.85-sec. victory.

Munroe finished second and Brantford, ON's Jordan Szoke, the Toyota Canada Superbike Championship points leader, made a spectacular charge up from the 18th starting spot to finish third on his Kawasaki ZX-7RR. Szoke won the Koolatron Kool Move of the Rac e Award for his performance.

"I had some lucky breaks in traffic and that helped a lot," said Taylor. "About five or six laps from the end my arms started getting tired and I really had to pace myself."

Taylor completed the race in 16 minutes, 1.167 seconds for an average speed of 134.836 km/h around the 1.8-km circuit.

Francis Martin of North Hatley, QC finished fourth on a Honda CBR900RR and Toronto's Kevin Graham took fifth on the Canadian Tire/Coca-Cola/Star Choice Yamaha YZF R1.

Taylor's win tightened up the Toyota Canada Superbike point standings with just two races remaining in the season. Szoke leads Munroe by only 10 points, 193-183, while Taylor sits a close third, just one point behind Munroe.

In other action at St-Eustache, Rockwood, ON's Frank Wilson ended Suzuki's three-race winning streak in Yoshimura 600 Sport Bike with a victory in Sunday's 16-lap feature on his Honda CBR600F3.

Munroe took second riding a Kawasaki ZX-6R and Kingston, ON's Jeff Williams was third on another CBR600F3.

Action from Autodrome St-Eustache can be seen on Speedvision premiering Tuesday, July 28 at 9:00 p.m. EDT. The races will also be shown on RDS in Quebec on Monday, Aug. 24 at 10:00 p.m. EDT.

The Toyota Canada Superbike Championship continues at Autodrome St-Felicien in St-Felicien, QC Aug. 14-16.

Results of Sunday's Suzuki Superbike Challenge, the fourth round of the Toyota Canada Superbike Championship, at Autodrome St-Eustache, showing finishing position, rider name, hometown and type of motorcycle:

1. Michael Taylor, Don Mills, ON, Kawasaki ZX-9R; 2. Don Munroe, Bedford, NS, Kawasaki ZX-7RR; 3. Jordan Szoke, Brantford, ON, Kawasaki ZX-7RR; 4. Francis Martin, North Hatley, QC, Honda CBR900RR; 5. Kevin Graham, Toronto, ON, Yamaha YZF R1; 6. Benoit Pilon, St-Jerome, QC, Yamaha YZF R1; 7. John Sharrard, Blackstock, ON, Yamaha FZR1000; 8. Philippe Cantin, St-Laurent, QC, Yamaha YZF R1; 9. Neil Jenkins, Kitchener, ON, Suzuki GSX-R750; 10. Clint McBain, Calgary, AB, Kawasaki ZX-7RR; 11. Jeffrey Sneyd, Mississauga, ON, Honda VTR1000; 12. Dan Kruger, Mont Rolland, QC, Suzuki GSX-R750; 13. Dave Marcella, Kitchener, ON, Suzuki GSX-R750; 14. Alain Larouche, Alma, QC, Yamaha YZF600; 15. Alain Quessy, St-Girard Magella, QC, Kawasaki ZX-6R; 16. Michel Lavallee, St-Adolphe, QC, Suzuki GSX-R600; 17. Kevin Lacombe, Granby, QC, Suzuki GSX-R600; 18. Jean-Philippe Begin, St-Redemption, QC, Kawasaki ZX-7RR

Time of Race: 16 minutes, 1.167 seconds Average Speed: 134.836 km/h Margin of Victory: 2.85 secs.

Point standings for the Toyota Canada Superbike Championship following the fourth round of the six round series, the Suzuki Superbike Challenge, at Autodrome St-Eustache on Sunday, showing position, rider name and point total:

1. Jordan Szoke, 193; 2. Don Munroe, 183; 3. Michael Taylor, 182; 4. Benoit Pilon, 168; 5. Francis Martin, 126; 6. Martin Gaudreault, 123; 7. Kevin Graham, 119; 8. Frank Wilson, 115; 9. Neil Jenkins, 100; 10. Clint McBain, 87; 11. Joshua Hayes, 80; 12. Jo hn Sharrard, 75; 13. Frank Trombino, 71; 14. Philippe Cantin, 69; 15. Jeffrey Sneyd, 55; 16. Dan Kruger, 45; 17. Murray Clift, 37; 18. Linnley Clarke, 29; 19. Jeff Williams, 28; 20. Csaba Werner, 24; 21. Dave Marcella, 19; 22. Jean-Francois Cyr, 18; 23. M ichel Lavallee, 18; 24. Mike Sullivan, 13; 25. Alain Larouche, 12; 26. Mark Orchard, 12; 27. Alain Quessy, 10; 28. Steve Dick 10; 29. Pat Potvin, 8; 30. Ryan Schwartz, 8; 31. Kevin Lacombe, 6; 32. Owen Weichel, 4; 33. Trevor Beckman, 4; 34. Jean-Philippe Begin, 4; 35. Rod Hall, 2; 36. Mark Lorentz, 2; 37. Tim Johnson, 1; 38. Scott Borthwick, 1; 39. Simon Field, 1

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series General
Drivers Jordan Szoke , Don Mills , Joshua Hayes , Rod Hall , John Hopkins , Clint McBain , Jeff Williams , Kevin Lacombe , Francis Martin , Frank Trombino , Frank Wilson , Mike Sullivan
Teams Williams