St-Felicien Toyota Canada Superbike Results

Autodrome St-Felicien // August 16, 1998 ST-FELICIEN, QC - Brantford, ON's Jordan Szoke edged closer to his first career Toyota Canada Superbike championship with a victory in Sunday's fifth round, the Honda Challenge, at Autodrome St-Felicien.

Autodrome St-Felicien // August 16, 1998

ST-FELICIEN, QC - Brantford, ON's Jordan Szoke edged closer to his first career Toyota Canada Superbike championship with a victory in Sunday's fifth round, the Honda Challenge, at Autodrome St-Felicien.

The 19-year-old took his Kawasaki ZX-7RR past the Kawasaki ZX-9R of Michael Taylor five laps from the end of the 20-lap race and pulled clear to his second win of the season. Taylor finished second and North Hatley, QC's Francis Martin held off Don Munro e for third on his Honda CBR900RR.

Szoke now has 249 points to the 234 of Taylor heading into the final round of the series at Shannonville Motorsport Park Sept. 6, with a maximum of 60 points available at the last event.

"This is what I needed to do," said Szoke, who also won the third round of the series at Calgary's Race City Speedway. "Mike's so fast at Shannonville that I needed to get as many points as possible on him here."

Martin led a spectacular four-bike lead battle through the first eight laps before Taylor and then Szoke got by. Szoke then closed up on Taylor and passed the Don Mills, ON rider early on the 16th lap.

Martin traded third place with the Kawasaki ZX-7RR of Munroe over the closing laps and hung on for his first ever Superbike podium finish. Neil Jenkins of Kitchener, ON was fifth on a Suzuki GSX-R750, passing the Yamaha YZF R1 of Toronto's Kevin Graham o n the final lap.

In other action at St-Felicien, Martin took the lead at the start on his Hnda CBR900RR and held off Taylor's Kawasaki ZX-9R all the way to win International Motorcycle SUPERSHOW Pro Open Sport Bike. Taylor's runner-up finish, however, was enough to clinc h the series title with one race to go.

Frank Trombino of Woodbridge, ON was third on a Yamaha YZF R1.

Munroe regained the lead in the Yoshimura 600 Sport Bike title chase with an impressive 5.10-sec. victory over championship rival Owen Weichel of Toronto in the 18-lap feature. The win gave Munroe a six-point advantage, 233-227, over the Suzuki rider hea ding to the final round at Shannonville.

Martin was third in the race on a Honda. Action from Autodrome St-Felicien can be seen on Speedvision premiering Tuesday, Sept. 1 at 9:00 pm. The races will also be shown on RDS on Thursday, Sept. 17 at 8:00 pm.

Results of Sunday's Honda Challenge, the fifth round of the Toyota Canada Superbike Championship, at Autodrome St-Felicien, showing finishing position, rider name, hometown and type of motorcycle:

1. Jordan Szoke, Brantford, ON, Kawasaki ZX-7RR; 2. Michael Taylor, Don Mills, ON, Kawasaki ZX-9R; 3. Francis Martin, North Hatley, QC, Honda CBR900RR; 4. Don Munroe, Bedford, NS, Kawasaki ZX-7RR; 5. Neil Jenkins, Kitchener, ON, Suzuki GSX-R750; 6. Kevin Graham, Toronto, ON, Yamaha YZF R1; 7. Frank Trombino, Woodbridge, ON, Yamaha YZF R1; 8. Philippe Cantine, Ste-Laurent, QC, Yamaha YZF R1; 9. Clint McBain, Calgary, AB, Kawasaki ZX-7RR; 10. Benoit Pilon, St-Jerome, QC, Yamaha YZF R1; 11. Jean-Francois Cyr , Ste-Adele, QC, Yamaha YZF R1; 12. Csaba Werner, North York, ON, Kawasaki ZX-9R; 13. Kevin Lacombe, Granby, QC, Suzuki GSX-R600; 14. John Sharrard, Whitby, ON, Yamaha FZR1000; 15. Murray Clift, Calgary, AB, Yamaha YZF R1; 16. Dan Kruger, Mont Rolland, QC , Suzuki GSX-R750; 17. Christian Breault, Trois-Rivieres, QC, Suzuki GSX-R600; 18. Alain Larouche, Alma, QC, Yamaha YZF600; 19. Michel Lavallee, St-Adolphe, QC, Suzuki GSX-R600; 20. Daniel Bergeron, St-Augustine, QC, Ducati 748 Time of Race: 19'05.185 Margin of Victory: 4.12 secs. Average Speed: 106.88 km/h

Point standings after Sunday's fifth round of the six-race Toyota Canada Superbike Championship, showing position, rider name and point total:

1. Jordan Szoke, 249; 2. Michael Taylor, 234; 3. Don Munroe, 215; 4. Benoit Pilon, 187; 5. Francis Martin, 163; 6. Kevin Graham, 146; 7. Neil Jenkins, 133; 8. Martin Gaudreault, 123; 9. Frank Wilson, 115; 10. Clint McBain, 108; 11. Frank Trombino, 96; 12. Philippe Cantin, 92; 13. John Sharrard, 87; 14. Joshua Hayes, 80; 15. Jeffrey Sneyd, 55; 16. Dan Kruger, 53; 17. Murray Clift, 47; 18. Csaba Werner, 39; 19. Jean-Francois Cyr, 35; 20. Linnley Clarke, 29; 21. Jeff Williams, 28; 22. Michel Lavallee, 20; 23 . Dave Marcella, 19; 24. Kevin Lacombe, 19; 25. Alan Larouche, 16; 26. Mike Sullivan, 13; 27. Mark Orchard, 12; 28. Alain Quessy, 10; 29. Steve Dick, 10; 30. Pat Potvin, 8; 31. Ryan Schwartz, 8; 32. Christian Breault, 6; 33. Owen Weichel, 4; 34. Trevor Be ckman, 4; 35. Jean-Philippe Begin, 4; 36. Rod Hall, 2; 37. Mark Lorentz, 2; 38. Tim Johnson, 1; 39. Scott Borthwick, 1; 40. Simon Field, 1; 41. Daniel Bergeron, 1

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series General
Drivers Jordan Szoke , Don Mills , Joshua Hayes , Rod Hall , Clint McBain , Kevin Lacombe , Francis Martin , Frank Trombino , Frank Wilson , Mike Sullivan
Teams Williams