New Egypt Results

Laureno Captures First Of Season At New Egypt Speedway New Egypt, NJ (May 8) -- Ivyland, PA's Roger Laureno visited Victory Lane for the first time this season during a fast-paced 25 lap Modified feature at the New Egypt Speedway on Saturday...

Laureno Captures First Of Season At New Egypt Speedway

New Egypt, NJ (May 8) -- Ivyland, PA's Roger Laureno visited Victory Lane for the first time this season during a fast-paced 25 lap Modified feature at the New Egypt Speedway on Saturday night.

"We're real happy," Laureno told the huge crowd. "I've got to thank all the friends who keep us going."

Rich Polenz led the way at the drop of the green with Laureno quickly advancing to the front from his 16th starting spot. The victim of a broken rear axle on lap 10, Polenz was forced to relinquish the lead to Danny Hieber. At the halfway flags, Laureno moved out in front with Hieber challenging. In the closing laps, Hieber did a 360 off the track in turn 3 but kept going. The caution waved on lap 25 when second place runner Kenny Brightbill slowed and went to the pits. This moved Billy Pauch into second on the restart; however, Laureno was up to the challenge as he led Pauch to the checker. Finishing behind Laureno and Pauch were Eddie Cranmer, Danny Hieber and Tim Tanner Sr.

Allentown, PA's Sean Michael led the invading URC Sprint Cars for his first win of 1999. "Usually you put it on cruise control but not on this race track -- you gotta really stay on it," commented Michael post race. Lining up 2nd on the grid, Michael moved out front on lap 7. Kevin Kelly escaped injury in a wild first turn flip which brought out the red flag. The restart found Michael opening a lead on the field as Kramer Williamson and Greg Coverdale battled for second. Coverdale took over the runner-up spot with five to go and chased Michael to the flag followed by Williamson, Chris Coyle and Jimmy Martin.

Tom Schmeh of the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame was on hand to present Michael with a very prestigious honor in Victory Lane -- the 1998 National Rookie of the Year award.

New Egypt's own Lee Taylor Jr. captured a popular career first Sportsman division win. Taylor came from third and survived several caution flags for the victory. Making up the front five behind Taylor were Dick Robbins, Keith Brightbill, Bob Worthington and Paul Marra.

After taking the lead from his 4th place start, Howell, NJ's Richie Byrne scored his career first win in the 15 lap Street Stock main. George Quinlan, Pat Conaway, Ralph Gargiulo and Mick Search trailed Byrne.

Freehold, NJ's Scott Reid took his second Rookie Sportsman feature win, coming from 9th in the 10 lap main. Making up the top five at the finish were John Dixon, Tom Tomasko, Chuck Flesch and Joe Szwed.

One lucky fan collected $2,741.50 in the nightly 50/50 drawing.

Next Saturday night, May 15, the gates open at 3:30 p.m. with warm-ups at 5 and the first heat at 6. Adult admission is $12, children 7-12 are $4, 6 and under are free.

5/8/99 MODIFIED RESULTS 1st Heat: 1.Pauch 2.Butler 3.Hager 4.Carberry 5.Tanner Sr. 6.Singley 2nd Heat: 1.Laureno 2.Polenz 3.VanGorder 4.Tanner Jr. 5.Leach 6.Hieber 3rd Heat: 1.Bitner 2.Velenger 3.Brightbill 4.Bohn 5.Cranmer 6.Bauma 'B' Main: 1.Drayton 2.Hendershot 3.Epright 4.McClaren 5.Taylor 6.Rochelle III (Fans' Prov: Osmun) Feature (25 laps): 1.Roger Laureno 2.Billy Pauch 3.Eddie Cranmer 4.Danny Hieber 5.Tim Tanner Sr. 6.Scott Van Gorder 7.Mark Bitner 8.Gary Velenger 9.Gary Butler 10.Eddie Bohn 11.Bob Drayton 12.Bob Bauma 13.Scott McClaren 14.Tim Tanner Jr. 15.Kenny Brightbill 16.Tom Hager 17.Tom Carberry 18.Rich Polenz 19.Mike Hendershot 20.Paul Rochelle III 21.Willie Osmun 22.John Leach 23.Todd Singley 24.Fritz Epright 25.Art Taylor Jr.

DNQ: Jerry Glenn, John Megill, Jeff Miller, Larry Reed, Chris Grbac, Rick Grosso Jr., Ken Wismer III, Rick Cozze, Larry McVay, Kenny Huchko. SPORTSMAN RESULTS Rookie Feature (10 laps): 1.Scott Reid 2.John Dixon 3. Tom Tomasko 4.Chuck Flesch 5.Joe Szwed 6.John Scheideler 7.Pat McBride 8.Bobby Richards 9.Darren Cox 10.Lewie Parker 11.Tim Burke 1st Heat: 1.Taylor Jr. 2.Reed 3.Cooke 4.Harris 5.Brightbill 6.Dallett 2nd Heat: 1.Keimig 2.David 3.Toth 4.Mears 5.Eppolite 6.Singley 3rd Heat: 1.Marra 2.Robbins 3.Ely 4.Papiez 5.Archer 6.Swain 1st 'B' Main: 1.Koczon 2.Infante 3.Kline 4.McIntyre 5.Roth 2nd 'B' Main: 1.Worthington 2.Sarvis 3.Gareis 4.Holsten 5.Lippincott Feature (15 Laps):1.Lee Taylor Jr. 2.Dick Robbins 3.Keith Brightbill 4.Bob Worthington 5.Paul Marra Sr. 6.Tom Eppolite 7.Mike Toth 8.Joe Sarvis 9.Ron John Koczon 10.Brien Ely 11.Kenny Roth 12.Jim Dallett 13.Jimmy Harris 14.Mike David 15.Jack Swain 16.Matt Papiez 17.Rocco Infante 18.Larry Archer 19.Scott Reid 20.Larry Lippincott 21.Donnie Kline 22.Rick Holsten 23.Keith McIntyre 24.JC Mears 25.Larry Reed 26.Kim Cooke 27.George Gareis 28.Kory Keimig 29.Scott Singley DNQ: Buck Ward, Phil Meisner Jr., Tom Tomasko, Chris Wasson, Tim Burke, Bob Pomeroy, Pat McBride, Lee Lawrence, Joe Szwed, Rob Pfister, Darren Cox, Jimmy Spence, Bryan Coffey, Johnny Foy, John Dixon, Rich Scagliotta, Bryant Brown, Gerry Hoagland, Chuck Flesch, Lewie Parker, Mike Mongiello III, Bobby Richards, John Scheideler, Art Adams Jr. STREET STOCK 'B' Main: 1.Whitehouse 2.Morrison 3.Hewitt 4.A. Bifulco 5.Haines 6.Giris Feature (15 laps):1.Richie Byrne 2.George Quinlan 3.Pat Conaway 4.Ralph Gargiulo 5.Mick Search 6.Steve Mongiello 7.Mike Nixon 8.Kenny Guyer 9.Tony Horner 10.Carol Whitehouse 11.Billy Bauma 12.Ben Jones 13.Art Bifulco 14.Al Cheney III 15.Bruce Leote 16.Evan Berardi 17.Kevin Bifulco 18.Dale Haines 19.Jim Hewitt 20.Pat Freiberger 21.Nick Giris 22.Tom Holloway 23.John Turnure 24.Kenny Hammond 25.Jay Morrison 26.Bill Bauer DNQ: Eric Colmerauer, Allen Hurley, Chip Grant, Blair Guker III, Tom Cremer, Chuck Barker, Rich Reider. URC SPRINT CARS 1st Heat: 1.Coyle 2.Martin 3.F. Hogue 4.Haggenbottom 5.Pursell 6.McGough 2nd Heat: 1.Anderson 2.Williamson 3.Ennis 4.Case 5.Ellis 6.Miller 3rd Heat: 1.Fitzcharles 2.S. Michael 3.Mead 4.Brittingham 5.Gable 6.Coverdale 'B' Main: 1.Staats 2.Kelly 3.Lieto 4.Jones 5.Stitzel 6.Karklin Feature (25 laps): 1.Sean Michael 2.Greg Coverdale 3.Kramer Williamson 4.Chris Coyle 5.Jimmy Martin 6.Scott Pursell 7.Mike Haggenbottom 8.Dave McGough 9.Brian Brittingham 10.Glen Fitzcharles 11.Billy Ellis 12.Dave Gable 13.Bill Case 14.Ray Staats 15.Jimmy Stitzel 16.Midge Miller 17.Kyle Jones 18.John Lieto 19.Itchy Mead 20.John Karklin 21.Donnie Ennis 22.Fran Hogue 23.Kevin Kelly 24.Becca Anderson DNQ: Jim Walter, John Eldreth, Fred Kennedy, Ian Borden, Gary Thayer, Tim Hogue, Glenn Clarke, Dan Massey, Wayne Patterson, Tim Higgins.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series General
Drivers Jeff Miller , Billy Pauch , John Dixon , Becca Anderson , Jimmy Harris
Teams Williams