MOTOCROSS: AUS: Toowoomba round 3 results

CDR/Nokia/Yamaha Win Inaugural Toowoomba Motocross CDR/Nokia/Yamaha's pro open champion Darryll King has won the pro open class at the inaugural Toowoomba round of the Maxxis Australian Motocross Championship while his team mate Troy Carroll ...

CDR/Nokia/Yamaha Win Inaugural Toowoomba Motocross

CDR/Nokia/Yamaha's pro open champion Darryll King has won the pro open class at the inaugural Toowoomba round of the Maxxis Australian Motocross Championship while his team mate Troy Carroll finished second overall in the pro lites.

Much to the delight of the vocal Toowoomba crowd, home town favourite Troy Carroll won the first thirty minute moto ahead of Serco Yamaha duo Cameron Taylor and Robbie Marshall.

Carroll got a good start and was third behind Honda's Cody Cooper and KTM rider Daniel McCoy on the opening lap until McCoy crashed heavily on one of the many technical turns on the hilly track.

Carroll picked up the pace and went after Cooper catching and passing him midway through the race.

It was Yamaha one, two, three with CDR/Nokia/Yamaha's Troy Carroll the race winner, Cameron Taylor second and Robbie Marshall third.

In the second pro lites moto KTM's Ryan Marmont got the holeshot and led the race from start to finish with Kawasaki rider Daniel Reardon second, Daniel McCoy third, Cameron Taylor fourth and CDR/Nokia/Yamaha's Troy Carroll fifth.

Troy Carroll and Ryan Marmont tied on round points with Marmont awarded the win on the count back ruling. Troy Carroll was second overall with Cameron Taylor third.

Carroll said he was happy to be back in the points with today's results elevating the rider to fourth in the championship.

"I had a great first race," Carroll said. "I got a good start and everything really fell into place during the race.

"My start in the second moto was terrible, nothing like the first race but overall I am just happy to be back on the podium and come away with some good championship points.

"The gap at the top of the championship table has really closed up, there is now only six points between second and fourth place in the championship," Carroll added.

Carroll's team mate Darryll King returned to the top of the podium winning the round after finishing second in the opening race and winning the second moto.

Reigning pro open champion Darryll King fought hard in first race after a poor start saw him stranded mid pack. King strategically manoeuvred his way through the pack but could not catch Suzuki's Daryl Hurley.

The CDR/Nokia/Yamaha rider had to settle for second with his younger brother Shayne King finishing third.

The second moto became a battle of the Kings after race one winner Hurley crashed on the opening lap and was left to fight back from dead last.

The lead swapped between the brothers four times before CDR/Nokia/Yamaha's Darryll King took a command of the race with only two laps to go. Shayne King finished second and Daryl Hurley recovered to finish third.

The three-time Australian Motocross Champion recorded his first race and round win of the year with Daryl Hurley second overall and Shayne King third overall.

King said he was delighted with the win after struggling for speed in the morning's practice sessions.

"I fought really really hard out there today it was a great feeling to come away with a victory after lacking speed in the earlier practice session," King said.

"I had my work out for me in the first race after a bad start left me way back in the pack.

"In the second race Shayne and I had a great battle going on but I knew I had to pull out something extra as Daryl Hurley was on a charge.

"The whole CDR/Nokia/Yamaha team are staying in Queensland in preparation for Coolum next weekend so we will do a lot of testing throughout the week.

King moved to second in the championship with 129 points and is only seven points behind series leader Daryl Hurley who is on 136points.

The fourth round of the Maxxis Australian Motocross Championship will be held at Coolum Motocross track on Sunday 1st May.

<pre> Top Ten Pro Lites Round Results 1. Ryan Marmont KTM 41 2. Troy Carroll CDR/Nokia/Yamaha 41 3. Cameron Taylor Serco Yamaha 40 4. Daniel Reardon Kawasaki 37 5. Robbie Marshall Serco Yamaha 35 6. Troy Dorron Honda 31 7. Warren Smart Honda 27 8. Luke Burkhart Suzuki 24 9. Mitch Hoad Yamaha 23 10. Cody Cooper Honda 21

Top Ten Pro Lites Championship Points 1. Cameron Taylor Serco Yamaha 118 2. Ryan Marmont KTM 99 3. Robbie Marshall Serco Yamaha 97 4. Troy Carroll CDR/Nokia/Yamaha 93 5. Luke Burkhart Suzuki 83 6. Daniel Reardon Kawasaki 81 7. Troy Dorron Honda 81 8. Daniel McCoy KTM 78 9. Warren Smart Honda 77 10. Danny Anderson KTM 73

Top Ten Pro Open Round Results 1. Darryll King CDR/Nokia/Yamaha 47 2. Daryl Hurley Suzuki 45 3. Shayne King Honda 42 4. Craig Carmichael Honda 31 5. Nick Saunders KTM 27 6. Adam Cini Kawasaki 27 7. Nathan Brochtrup Yamaha 26 8. Mick Cook Yamaha 24 9. Dean Porter Honda 20 10. Barry Surawski KTM 18

Top Ten Pro Open Championship Points 1. Daryl Hurley Suzuki 136 2. Darryll King CDR/Nokia/Yamaha 129 3. Shayne King Honda 116 4. Craig Anderson Honda 93 5. Danny Ham Suzuki 71 6. Lee Ellis KTM 69 7. Adam Cini Kawasaki 68 8. Nathan Brochtrup Yamaha 61 9. Peter Broxholme Honda 59 10. Thomas Jones Honda 58


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series General