MOTOCROSS: AUS: Round two Horsham results

King and Cooper maintain control New Zealander Shayne King (No Fear Honda CRF450R) held his nerve in trying conditions to maintain his lead in the Maxxis Australian Motocross Championship at Horsham (Vic) on May 23. After dominating...

King and Cooper maintain control

New Zealander Shayne King (No Fear Honda CRF450R) held his nerve in trying conditions to maintain his lead in the Maxxis Australian Motocross Championship at Horsham (Vic) on May 23.

After dominating qualifying, the 33-year-old former world 500cc motocross champion finished second in the two drizzle-affected 17-lap motos for a valuable haul of 44pts, just one behind sibling and main championship rival Darryll (CDR/Boost Mobile/Yamaha YZ450F).

After the second consecutive King one-two -- Shayne won both motos in round one at Barrabool (Vic) on May 16 -- the duo has already forged a handy break over its main championship rivals, with KTM's Jay Marmont (Motorex 450SXF) in third, 18pts (69 to 87) behind Darryll. Shayne, who has finished third and second in the past two championships, retains control on 94pts.

"After last weekend I was determined not to let Shayne get too far ahead in the points," said Darryll, who also won the Aussie title in 2001. "We set ourselves a goal for this round, which we have now achieved.

"Hopefully we can keep the ball rolling and make it a great championship."

Meanwhile, the Kiwi juggernaut continued in the Pro Lites class at Horsham, with 20-year-old Cody Cooper (No Fear Honda CRF250R) registering his second consecutive maximum-point haul - his piece de resistance a brilliant charge through the field in moto two. Cooper's continued excellence has him on a perfect 100pts, and on target to better last year's fifth-place championship finish by a number of spots -- if not four.

The opening 17-lap Pro Open moto at Horsham was a classic King quid pro quo -- whatever one sibling served up, the other repaid in kind. Despite registering the fastest lap of 1:52.630, Shayne -- who had won four of the previous five Pro Open races dating back to the 2003 -- came out second best in the rolling scrum, with Troy Carroll (CDR/Boost Mobile/Yamaha YZ250) filling the last podium spot from Shane Metcalfe (No Fear Honda CRF450R) and Cheyne Boyd (CDR/Boost Mobile/Yamaha YZ450F).

Such was the intent of the two Kings in moto one, the pair lapped all but eight of the 34 finishers.

With conditions continuing to deteriorate, Honda returned to the winner's circle in moto two -- with yet another New Zealander, Corrie Sargent (Sale Honda/Full Throttle Sports CRF450R), lauded for an outstanding performance.

Sargent, who won the 2003 Oceania motocross 250cc title at Broadford (Vic), was never headed after scoring the holeshot, his sublime performance ending with a superb 6.450sec triumph over Shayne King, Darryl King, Boyd and Carroll. Earlier, Sargent was a modest 17th in the opening moto.

On the strength of his win, Sargent (46pts) jumped five spots into the championship top 10 at Horsham, behind Carroll (68), Boyd (67), Danny Ham (Shift Motul Suzuki RM250, 54), Metcalfe (53) and Lee Ellis (Sale Honda CRF450R, 47). Recently crowned Australian enduro champion Glenn Kearney (Ballard's Yamaha YZ250) is 10th on 35pts.

With Cooper all class in Pro Lites -- epitomized by his brilliant effort in moto two -- multiple Australian champion Troy Dorron (No Fear Honda CRF250R) again finished second overall, his haul of 40pts two in advance of Cameron Taylor (CDR/Boost Mobile/Yamaha YZ250F) and New Zealander Barry Morris (YZ250F) on 38 apiece.

The aforementioned quartet scored top five positions in both motos, while 22-year-old Adam Robinson (Team Kawasaki Australia KX250F) and Danny Anderson (Red Bull KTM 125SX) both made classy cameos -- the former an excellent third in the first battle, and Anderson fifth in the second.

With Darryll King abandoning his tilt at the Pro Lites title -- he was third overall in round one -- there was quite a bit of upward movement in the championship ladder at Horsham, with Morris the biggest 'offender' -- up nine spots to fifth place on 49pts. He now sits behind Cooper (100pts), Dorron (82), Taylor (76) and McCoy (58).

Finally, the opening Rookies battle was a Moss benefit, with Jake scoring 43pts to outlast his sibling and fellow AXO Yamaha pilot Matt (42).

Round three of the Maxxis Australian Motocross Championship will be held at Coolum (Qld) on June 6. <pre> ROUND TWO RESULTS

Pro Open moto one: 17 laps 1 Darryll King Yamaha 2 Shayne King Honda 3 Troy Carroll Yamaha 4 Shane Metcalfe Honda 5 Cheyne Boyd Yamaha 6 Jay Marmont KTM 7 Lee Ellis Honda 8 Danny Ham Suzuki 9 Craig Carmichael Honda 10 Nathan Brochtrup KTM Fastest lap: Shayne King -- 1:52.630 on lap three

Pro Open moto two: 17 laps 1 Corrie Sargent Honda 2 Shayne King 3 Darryll King 4 Boyd 5 Carroll 6 Metcalfe 7 Marmont 8 Ham 9 Glenn Kearney Yamaha 10 Carmichael Fastest lap: Sargent -- 1:53.436 on lap three

Current Pro Open standings (after two of eight rounds): 1 Shayne King 94 2 Darryll King 87 3 Marmont 69 4 Carroll 68 5 Boyd 67 6 Ham 54 7 Metcalfe 53 8 Ellis 47 9 Sargent 46 10 Kearney 35

Pro Lites moto one: 17 laps 1 Cody Cooper Honda 2 Troy Dorron Honda 3 Adam Robinson Kawasaki 4 Barry Morris Yamaha 5 Cameron Taylor Yamaha 6 Daniel McCoy yamaha 7 Wade Thompson yamaha 8 Luke Van Maanenberg Yamaha 9 Mitch Hoad Suzuki 10 Daniel Reardon Kawasaki Fastest lap: Cooper -- 1:54.447 on lap six

Pro Lites moto two: 16 laps 1 Cooper 2 Taylor 3 Morris 4 Dorron 5 Danny Anderson KTM 6 Reardon 7 Hoad 8 Jye Harvey Honda 9 McCoy 10 Warren Smart Honda Fastest lap: Morris -- 1:58.260 on lap eight

Current Pro Lites standings (after two of eight rounds): 1 Cooper 100 2 Dorron 82 3 Taylor 76 4 McCoy 58 5 Morris 49 6 Harvey 45 7 Hoad 43 8 Reardon 40 8 Darryll King 40 10 Adam Cini 34


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series General