Kevin Buckler elected to RRDC

TRG's Kevin Buckler Elected to Road Racing Drivers Club

Petaluma, CA, (January 10, 2010) - TRG owner/driver Kevin Buckler has been elected to the prestigious Road Racing Drivers Club (RRDC). The 58-year-old organization headed by Bobby Rahal holds a roster of over 350 distinguished members from the worldwide motorsports community.

Kevin Buckler Buckler's resume includes championships behind the wheel as well as on the pit box. Prominent in his trophy case as a driver are three Rolex Series Daytona 24 Hour wins in 2002 and 2003, the last was an overall victory in a GT class car. The third win in 2009 was as a team owner. In addition, in 2002 he won the GT category at the 24 Hours of Le Mans, in that same year he also won the prestigious Porsche World Cup as the most successful Porsche driver of that year. On the pit box his sports car team won two back-to-back Rolex Series GT championships in 2005 and 2006 and holds the Grand-Am win record with 31. As a team owner he expanded his racing footprint in 2007 by adding a Camping World Truck Series team and made the ultimate jump in 2009 with the addition of a NASCAR Sprint Cup Series team.

"It is a real honor to be elected into the Road Racing Drivers Club," Buckler said. "This is a big deal and it is an absolute thrill to see the names of the existing members, the history of this prestigious organization and now see my name being added to the club. With the big names that are already in there it is nice that to know that my driving resume still holds up. This is a testament to the commitment of my number one co-driver, my wife Debra, as well as all of the other great drivers who have shared a seat with me over the years."

By a vote of its current members in 2010, the Road Racing Drivers Club (RRDC) elects a small and distinguished group of drivers and supporters of the sport to membership in the 58-year-old organization. This year's list includes the likes of Chip Ganassi and Arie Luyendyk.

"This is a truly outstanding group that represents virtually every form of road racing in North America," said RRDC President Bobby Rahal. "Membership in the club is one of the highest honors one can receive in American motorsports, and with it comes something even better: the opportunity to give something back to the sport. These days the RRDC is deeply involved in the development and support of young American drivers, and we look forward to our new members' active participation."

The Road Racing Drivers Club was formed in 1952 as a way to give champion drivers a say in their sport, particularly in the areas of safety, and has evolved to serve the future of road racing by mentoring new drivers on both amateur and professional levels. The Club's membership includes leading industry professionals, race officials and motorsports journalists, in addition to prominent racing names.

President Bobby Rahal is the 1986 Indy 500 winner and is co-owner, with David Letterman, of the 2004 Indianapolis 500 winning Rahal Letterman Racing team. Six-time SCCA National champion John Fergus is the Club's Vice President/Treasurer, and five-time SCCA National champion Tom Davey is the Secretary.

-source: trg

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series General
Drivers Arie Luyendyk , Bobby Rahal , Kevin Buckler , John Fergus , Chip Ganassi