International news - 97-10-13

Britain - Haberfeld ends the year in top 6... Germany - Battistuzzi wins F Opel title at Hockenheim... Britain - Burti crowned Formula Vauxhall champion... Nations Cup - Strong line-up for next weekend... Britain - Haberfeld ends the year in...

Britain - Haberfeld ends the year in top 6... Germany - Battistuzzi wins F Opel title at Hockenheim... Britain - Burti crowned Formula Vauxhall champion... Nations Cup - Strong line-up for next weekend...

Britain - Haberfeld ends the year in top 6...

Mario Haberfeld ended his British Formula 3 championship year rounding off the top 6 places following his fifth position in the Thruxton finale on Sunday at the wheel of his Dallara/Opel.

He struggled in the 20-lap race, but held off a challenge from Warren Hughes (Dallara/Mitsubishi) to take fifth place, with fastest race lap going to Guy Smith (Dallara/Opel). But all eyes were on the battle for the championship title between Nicolas Minassian (Dallara/Renault) and Jonny Kane (Dallara/Honda) - Kane just needed to score a single point to take the championship, while Minassian needed to win and take fastest lap. Minassian won, but Kane finished second to take the title.


1  Nicolas Minassian (F)  Dallara/Renault
2  Jonny Kane      Dallara/Honda
3  Enrique Bernoldi (BR)  Dallara/Renault
4  Peter Dumbreck    Dallara/Honda
5  Mario Haberfeld (BR)  Dallara/Opel
6  Warren Hughes    Dallara/Mitsubishi

British Formula 3 - final positions after 16 rounds:

1  Jonny Kane      Dallara/Honda  199 points
2  Nicolas Minassian (F)  Dallara/Renault  183
3  Peter Dumbreck    Dallara/Honda  149
4  Mark Webber (AUS)  Dallara/Honda  131
5  Enrique Bernoldi (BR)  Dallara/Renault  127
6  Mario Haberfeld (BR)  Dallara/Opel    108

Germany - Battistuzzi wins F Opel title at Hockenheim...

Marcelo Battistuzzi added the German Formula Opel champion’s title to his EU Series success on Sunday, when, by finishing fifth in the 23-lap final race at Hockenheim, he took enough points to clinch the title ahead of Italy’s Giovanni Montanari, with Austria’s Walter Thimmler finishing the year third thanks to a second place at Hockenheim.

Germany’s Marko Stipp took fourth in the championship after a fourth place finish at Hockenheim.


1 Giovanni Montanari (I) 2 Walter Thimmler (A) 3 Andrea Piccini (I) 4 Marko Stipp 5 Marcelo Battistuzzi (BR) 6 Ralf Dekarski

German Formula Opel - final positions after 10 rounds:

1  Marcelo Battistuzzi (BR)    102 points
2  Giovanni Montanari (I)    97
3  Walter Thimmler (A)    85.5
4  Marko Stipp        81
5  Andrea Piccini (I)      68
6  Ralf Dekarski      55

Britain - Burti crowned Formula Vauxhall champion...

The Formula Vauxhall Championship ended in anti-climax at Thruxton on Sunday when both main challengers retired in the 12-lap race, the title going to Luciano Burti by the slender two points advantage he held over rival Andrew Kirkaldy before this final round.

Kirkaldy made a dive for the lead at the start. From his third place on the grid he shot past Burti into the first corner and was pushing pole-man Justin Wilson for the lead when he stopped on the grass with an engine problem. Burti meanwhile struggled in fourth behind Wagner Ebrahim and Stuart Moseley, then on the eighth lap, he too was out with a damaged front wing.

That left Wilson to continue and take the race win, but second place for Ebrahim was enough for his to secure a podium place for the championship.


1 Justin Wilson 2 Wagner Ebrahim (BR) 3 Adam Wilcox 4 Stuart Saggers 5 Stuart Moseley 6 Giovanni Anapoli (I)

Formula Vauxhall - final positions after 12 rounds:

1  Luciano Burti  (BR)    84 points
2  Andrew Kirkaldy    82
3  Wagner Ebrahim (BR)  74
4  Justin Wilson    72
5  Adam Wilcox      67
6  Tim Mullen      54

Nations Cup - Strong line-up for next weekend...

The Nations Cup returns to Donington this coming weekend for the annual Olympic games of motor racing’ spectacular, when a field of national two car teams battle for honours over two heats. VALVOLINE, a world leader in high-performance motor oils and a major supporter of motorsports internationally has signed to become the title sponsor for the eighth annual Nations Cup.

National teams from 11 different countries will take to the grid at Donington with strong challenges expected from Austria, Brazil, Great Britain and the Netherlands, while Germany will be pushing to repeat its 1996 win of the blue and gold Nations Cup.

More Nations Cup details on:

Nations Cup VIII will be available to TV viewers in over 60 countries reaching 100's of millions of households.

Australia Stephen White Formula Holden Ian Agnew Formula Holden

Austria    Hubert Stromberger    Formula Opel
      Walter Thimmler    Formula Opel
Brazil      Marcelo Battistuzzi    Formula Chevrolet
      Wagner Ebrahim    Formula Chevrolet
European Union  Warren Carway    Formula Opel
      TBN        Formula Opel
Finland    Marco Nevallainen    Formula Opel
      Hannu Viinikainen    Formula Opel
Germany    Marko Stipp      Formula Opel
      Jorg Bergmeister    Formula Opel
Great Britain    Adam Wilcox      Formula Vauxhall
      Stuart Moseley    Formula Vauxhall
Ireland    Vivion Daly      Formula Opel
      Mark Kershaw    Formula Opel
Italy      Giovanni Montanari    Formula Opel
      Giovanni Anapoli    Formula Opel
Netherlands    Sandor Van Es    Formula Opel
      Sepp Koster      Formula Opel
South America  Fabricio Masullo    Formula Chevrolet
      TBN        Formula Chevrolet
United States  Buddy Rice      Formula Chevrolet
      Matt Sielsky      Formula Chevrolet

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series General
Drivers Luciano Burti , Enrique Bernoldi , Mark Webber , Mario Haberfeld , Andrea Piccini , Justin Wilson , Guy Smith , Nicolas Minassian , Peter Dumbreck , Jörg Bergmeister , Jonny Kane , Warren Hughes , Buddy Rice , Sepp Koster , Adam Wilcox , Warren Carway , Tim Mullen , Andrew Kirkaldy , Stuart Moseley , Marko Stipp , Wagner Ebrahim