DTC: Jyllands-Ringen, round 3 report

Jason Watt tops the rostrum for the first time in 3 years Following a dismal start to the season the former champion triumphed Jason Watt became a very popular winner, when he won Sunday's Final in the third round of this year's Danish...

Jason Watt tops the rostrum for the first time in 3 years
Following a dismal start to the season the former champion triumphed

Jason Watt became a very popular winner, when he won Sunday's Final in the third round of this year's Danish Touringcar Championship at Jyllands-Ringen. The season had started bad for the 2002 champion, who did not finish the first three heats of the years, and now he could finally top the rostrum for the first in nearly three years.

"I have really missed winning," Jason Watt said in the minutes after having been given the winner's garland. "In the previous races this year I have felt that I had the speed and the car to do it, and finally everything formed a synthesis so that I could win. At some time or another during your career it starts affecting you mentally, if you continue being unlucky. I have to think hard and long to remember a situation, when luck was on my side. But today, I can say that my win had nothing to do with luck, because I led the Final from start to finish, and I did not inherit my win from somebody else."

Jens Edman had been fastest in the Super Pole shoot-out, but as the ride height of his Toyota Corolla T-Sport was found to be 3 mm too small, he had to start the Pre Final from 12th position, leaving Casper Elgaard to claim pole position and romp into a lead from Henrik Lundgaard, he was never to loose. Former champion Michael Carlsen initially held third position, but then he had to let the Peugeot pair of Jason Watt and Jan Magnussen by, before battling it out with John Nielsen for that fifth position that equaled pole position on the partically reversed grid for the Final. With four laps to go, Michael Carlsen elected to let John Nielsen by into fifth position, but in the end it was Michael Carlsen who took up the best start position for the Final, as John Nielsen was given a five second penalty for hitting Jan Magnussen at the start of the Pre Final.

Jan Magnussen should have started alongside Michael Carlsen on the front row for the final, but an electrical problem meant that the reigning champion started from the pit lane and then eventually retired at the end of the opening lap.

Starting from fifth on the grid Casper Elgaard used his rear wheel drive BMW to the best effect to go straight into a narrow lead from Jason Watt and Michael Carlsen, but as the latter pair tangled in the first corner, Watt got sideways and rammed into the left rear-side door of Elgaard's car. The winner of the Pre Final lost a couple of positions in the proces, but as the door started to jump open, he had to pit to get it rectified.

Instead there was now a Peugeot 1-2 due to Jason Watt and Michael Carlsen at the front, but behind Michael Carlsen, the Toyota pair of Henrik Lundgaard and Jens Edman started to make their presence felt. The latter driver had made a perfect getaway to go from seventh on the grid to fourth position, and he seemed to be the faster of the chasing pair. Michael Carlsen would have none of this, and a small queue now started forming behind the white BP 307, as John Nielsen joined the Toyota pair, the BMW driver having worked his way up to fifth from tenth on the grid.

This battle for second place meant that Jason Watt could easily enlarge his cushion, but on the tenth lap Henrik Lundgaard finally found a way past Michael Carlsen, and in an instant Jens Edman, John Nielsen and Martin Jensen all followed through. While Henrik Lundgaard and Jens Edman settled for second and third position in the race, which would give them the top two positions in the championship standings, Martin Jensen was intent on moving further up, and the works Peugeot driver eventually found a way past John Nielsen.

Brief stories: The supporting Fleggaard Renault Clio Cup had two races at the Jyllands-Ringen, the latter race being a quite dramatic affair, when Carsten Mikkelsen and 65-year old 15 time Danish champion Erik Høyer both rolled their cars. The two races resulted in a race win each for the two former DTC drivers Per Poulsen and Kasper Jensen. The Scandinavian Formula Ford 1800 drivers raced for points for the prestigious Scandinavian title, formerly won by JJ Letho and Mika Hakkinen. Dane Anders Ole Egebart won both races, while the 15 year-old son if Kurt Thiim, Nicki Thiim, took a second and a fourth place.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series General
Drivers Mika Hakkinen , Jan Magnussen , Henrik Lundgaard , John Nielsen , Jason Watt , Casper Elgaard , Martin Jensen , Jens Edman , Nicki Thiim , Jensen Kasper , Per Poulsen