Competitors Honored at Awards Banquet

F2000 COMPETITORS HONORED AT SEASON-ENDING BANQUET FAIRFIELD, N.J. (October 20, 1999)—The 1999 U.S. F2000 National Championship Presented by Speedvision season came to an official close with the annual awards banquet October 17 at the...


FAIRFIELD, N.J. (October 20, 1999)—The 1999 U.S. F2000 National Championship Presented by Speedvision season came to an official close with the annual awards banquet October 17 at the Walt Disney World Swan hotel in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. England’s Dan Wheldon was the top honoree, receiving the 1999 National Championship, 1999 Road To Indy Oval Crown and both Rookie of the Year titles. Wheldon (Jayhard/Primus Racing Van Diemen Ford) capped off his championship run with four-straight poles and three-straight wins, including two at Sebring International Raceway October 16-17, to amass 315 points—49 more than runner-up Marc-Antoine Camirand (Key Motorsports Van Diemen Ford) over the course of the 14-race season. Steve Rikert (Richard Morgan Racing Van Diemen Ford) finished third, with 201 points. In winning the National Championship, Wheldon receives the U.S. F2000 Career Options Package, which includes a free test in both A.J. Foyt’s IRL car and a KOOL/Toyota Atlantic Championship car; financial assistance in either the 2000 Atlantic or PPG-Dayton Indy Lights championships; and $10,000 in cash. Wheldon came to the series after finishing second in the 1998 Formula Ford World Finals at Brands Hatch, earning a portion of the 1999 Formula Ford Incentive Program scholarship. Wheldon was also presented awards for leading the most laps (150 of 362) and earning the most poles (five, at Lowe’s Motor Speedway, Mid-Ohio, Pikes Peak and twice at Sebring). Members of Wheldon’s team were honored as well, with Jon Baytos, of Primus Racing, accepting Car Owner of the Year, John Hayes accepting Engineer of the Year for his third-straight year, and Ivan Koldsgaard taking home Crew Chief of the Year. Both Van Diemen International and Quicksilver RacEngines received manufacturer awards for the eighth time, with Van Diemen taking Chassis Manufacturer of the Year (123 of a possible 126 points) and Quicksilver earning Engine Builder of the Year (114 points). Cape Motorsports, with drivers T.J. Bell, Aaron Justus and Jeff Wright, earned the Prep Shop of the Year award for scoring 57 points. Rikert took runner-up honors in the Road To Indy Oval Crown, with Bell (Eldorado/Cape/Bell Helmets/MiR Van Diemen Ford) taking third. Daniel Muníz (Texaco-Havoline/Visa Aval Van Diemen Ford) took two awards—most laps completed (352 of a possible 362) and the Mid-Ohio School Achievement Award for his improvement over the course of the season. Guy Cosmo (K.C. Trade Insurance/Nordan/Valvoline Van Diemen Ford) received the American Continental Championship award, earning 120 points in the eight-race ACC Championship for older cars. Mike Durand (Kart Sports Van Diemen Ford) and Brett Harrison (Seattle Auto Sport/Everett Engineering Van Diemen Ford) finished second and third, respectively. Other honorees on the evening included each driver setting a lap record or recording a race win during the season and Dede Rogers, who graduates her DSTP Motorsports team to the KOOL/Toyota Atlantic Championship in 2000.

U.S. F2000 NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP TOP-10 Pos., Driver, Points, Earnings 1, Dan Wheldon (R), 315, $58,600 2, Marc-Antoine Camirand, 266, 32,050 3, Steve Rikert, 201, 20,050 4, T.J. Bell, 199, 14,050 5, Mark Dismore (R), 197, 9,850 6, Bobby Oergel, 195, 11,750 7, Daniel Muníz (R), 184, 9,850 8, Jonathan Bottoms, 145, 8,050 9, Rolando Quintanilla, 141, 8,500 10, Aaron Justus, 132, 20,600

ROAD TO INDY OVAL CROWN TOP-FIVE Pos., Driver, Points, Earnings 1, Dan Wheldon (R), 140, $31,000 2, Steve Rikert, 90, 14,000 3, T.J. Bell, 84, 7,500 4, Mark Dismore (R), 77, 4,500 5, Marc-Antoine Camirand, 76, 12,500

AMERICAN CONTINENTAL CHAMPIONSHIP Pos., Driver, Points 1, Guy Cosmo, 120 2, Mike Durand (R), 112 3, Brett Harrison (R), 102 4, Georges Forgeois (R), 77 5, Greg Schings (R), 63


Car Owner of the Year: Jon Baytos, Primus Racing Crew Chief of the Year: Ivan Koldsgaard Engine Builder of the Year: Quicksilver RacEngines Engineer of the Year: John Hayes Manufacturer of the Year: Van Diemen International Mid-Ohio School Driver Achievement: Daniel Muníz Most Laps Complete: Daniel Muníz Most Laps Led: Dan Wheldon Most Poles: Dan Wheldon National Championship Rookie of the Year: Dan Wheldon Prep Shop of the Year: Cape Motorsports Road To Indy Oval Crown Rookie of the Year: Dan Wheldon

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series General
Drivers Mark Dismore , Marc-Antoine Camirand , Guy Cosmo , T.J. Bell , Dan Wheldon , Rolando Quintanilla , Aaron Justus , Georges Forgeois , A.J. Foyt , Brett Harris