Citroen cleans up at FIA Prize Giving

The WTCC podium was monopolized by the French marque.

Citroen factory drivers Jose Maria Lopez, Yvan Muller and Sebastien Loeb were the hallmarks for Citroen as the manufacturer cleaned up at the FIA Prize Giving.

Held in Doha, Qatar, the FIA Prize Giving is held to formally award championships to those who were successful in 2014 in FIA sanctioned events.

While Citroen owned the WTCC podium, and took home the manufacturers title in that series, they also took home second overall in the World Rally Championship standings on the stregth of eight podium finishes by Kris Meeke and Mads Ostberg.

Committed to racing into the future

Citroen Racing Team Principal Yves Matton said Citroen's committment to FIA series will go long into the future.

“This evening, alongside leading figures from throughout international motor sport, we can reflect on what an intense year we have just experienced. These trophies reward the work of the drivers and everyone in the Citroën Racing team, who have competed in two World Championships, and taken part in some 25 events in every corner of the planet," said Matton.

"In 2015, we’ll be defending our FIA WTCC titles with Pechito, Yvan and Seb, and we will continue to remain involved in the WRC. For their second season with the DS 3, Kris and Mads can aim higher still and we will try to help them onto the podium of the Drivers’ World C hampionship. We will also be thinking about the future in continuing to support the development of Stéphane Lefebvre.”


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series General
Event FIA prize giving ceremony
Drivers Sébastien Loeb , Yvan Muller , Kris Meeke , Jose Maria Lopez , Mads Ostberg , Yves Matton , Stéphane Lefebvre
Teams Citroën World Rally Team
Article type Breaking news