Canadian Motorsport HoF announces 2011 inductees

Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame To Honour Inductees

Eight Canadians will to be inducted into the Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame , it was announced today by the Canadian Motorsport Heritage Foundation. They will be formally recognized at the at the Hall's Annual Gala on April 23, 2011 at On The Park Convention Centre in Toronto(formerly Inn On the Park.) The inductees were chosen after being nominated, and reviewed by the Hall's Selection Committee. They join 158 other significant contributors to Canadian motorsport, whom have been inducted in the past 16 Years.

Canadian Inductees to be honoured in April include: Power Boat competitor Norm Woods, Bracebridge, On; ASN Executive Paul Cooke, Oakville, On; Competitor Jacques Duval, St. Bruno, QC; Power Boat competitor John Webster, Scarborough, ON; *Herb Rodgers, Drag Racing competitor, Belmont, ON; Drag racing competitor, Bob Elliott, Wingham, ON; Current president of Canada's governing motorsport body , Roger Peart , Port Credit , ON and Power Boat competitor , Jean Theoret of Maple grove, QC. (*denotes posthumously)

In addition, Professor Sid Watkins and Bobby Rahal, will be inducted through the CMHF's International category, which was newly created in 2010. Both have made significant contributions to motorsports in Canada, as well as being prominent international figures. Watkins was formerly the chief medical officer for Formula 1 while Rahal was the first winner of the inaugural Molson Indy in 1986. Both Professor Watkins and Mr. Rahal will be speakers at the Gala event.

In addition to the audio visual presentations on each inductee and the acceptance formalities, a silent auction will be held . Profits from the Gala will support the development of a new Canadian Motorsport Heritage Museum.

Tickets for the event are available through the Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame's website at or by calling 905 852 6764. A portion of each ticket is eligible for a charitable receipt.

-source: cmhf

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series General
Drivers Bobby Rahal