Canada Superbike Championship Shannonville Results

SHANNONVILLE, ON - In one of the most dramatic finishes in series history, 19-year-old Jordan Szoke claimed his first career Toyota Canada Superbike Championship at Shannonville Motorsport Park on Sunday. The Brantford, ON native...

SHANNONVILLE, ON - In one of the most dramatic finishes in series history, 19-year-old Jordan Szoke claimed his first career Toyota Canada Superbike Championship at Shannonville Motorsport Park on Sunday.

The Brantford, ON native rode his Kawasaki ZX-7RR to a third place finish behind defending Toyota Canada Superbike champion Don Munroe and Michael Taylor to edge Taylor by eight points for the series title, 290-282. Munroe, in his last race before retiri ng from the sport, finished third in points with 275.

"It's awesome, unbelievable," said Szoke. "I knew Donnie would be pushing really hard for the race win this weekend and I knew Mike would be pushing for the championship, so I just rode as hard as I could."

Munroe and Taylor staged a spectacular battle for the lead through most of the 14-lap race while Szoke sat in third. Munroe led the first seven laps on his Kawasaki ZX-7RR before Taylor took over. A win for Taylor coupled with Szoke's third would have be en enough to give the Don Mills, ON rider the Toyota Canada Superbike Championship. But just a few laps from the end an exhaust bracket broke on his Kawasaki ZX-9R, and Munroe was able to retake the lead.

North Hatley, QC's Francis Martin finished fourth on a Honda CBR900RR while Frank Wilson of Rockwood, ON, also on a CBR900RR, climbed from 12th on the opening lap to finish fifth and claim the Koolatron Kool Move of the Race Award.

In other action at Shannonville, Munroe clinched a staggering fifth consecutive Yoshimura 600 Sport Bike title with his second straight feature win of the season. He took his Kawasaki ZX-6R to a four second victory over the Honda CBR600F3 of Rockwood, ON 's Frank Wilson in the nine-lap race. Neil Jenkins of Kitchener, ON was third on a Suzuki GSX-R600.

Munroe set a new class lap record early in the race, covering the 4.0-km track in one minute, 48.46 seconds for an average speed of 133.76 km/h.

Taylor won his fourth International Motorcycle SUPERSHOW Open Sport Bike feature of the year on his Kawasaki ZX-9R. Taylor, who had already clinched the championship, beat the Canadian Tire/Coca-Cola/Star Choice Yamaha YZF R1 of Lefroy, ON's Kevin Graham by 9.9 secs. Philippe Cantin of St-Laurent, QC was third on the NTN Bearings Yamaha YZF R1. Taylor also set a new lap record of one minute, 47.99 seconds, averaging 133.76 km/h. Action from the final round of the Toyota Canada Superbike Championship can be seen on Speedvision premiering Tuesday, Sept. 22 at 9:00 p.m. The races will also be shown on RDS in Quebec on Thursday, September 24 at 7:30 p.m.

Results of Sunday's sixth and final round of the Toyota Canada Superbike Championship, the Honda/Dunlop Challenge, at Shannonville Motorsport Park showing finishing position, rider name, hometown and type of motorcycle:

1. Don Munroe, Bedford, NS, Kawasaki ZX-7RR; 2. Michael Taylor, Don Mills, ON, Kawasaki ZX-9R; 3. Jordan Szoke, Brantford, ON, Kawasaki ZX-7RR; 4. Francis Martin, North Hatley, QC, Honda CBR900RR; 5. Frank Wilson, Rockwood, ON, Honda CBR900RR; 6. Benoit P ilon, St-Jerome, QC, Yamaha YZF R1; 7. Kevin Graham, Lefroy, ON, Yamaha YZF R1; 8. Jeff Williams, Kingston, ON, Kawasaki ZX-7RR; 9. Neil Jenkins, Kitchener, ON, Suzuki GSX-R600; 10. John Sharrard, Blackstock, ON, Yamaha FZR1000; 11. Dan Kruger, Mont Rolla nd, QC, Suzuki TL1000S; 12. Csaba Werner, North York, ON, Kawasaki ZX-9R; 13. Michel Lavallee, St-Adolphe, QC, Suzuki GSX-R600; 14. Kevin Lacombe, Granby, QC, Suzuki GSX-R600; 15. Alex Howard, London, ON, Yamaha FZR1000; 16. Daniel Bergeron, St-Augustin, QC, Ducati 748; 17. Wayne Cornwell, Newark, NY, Honda CBR600F3

Toyota Canada Superbike Championship final point standings following the Honda/Dunlop Challenge at Shannonville Motorsport Park on Sunday showing finishing position, rider name and points total:

1. Jordan Szoke, 290; 2. Michael Taylor, 282; 3. Don Munroe, 275; 4. Benoit Pilon, 214; 5. Francis Martin, 195; 6. Kevin Graham, 171; 7. Neil Jenkins, 154; 8. Frank Wilson, 144; 9. Martin Gaudreault, 123; 10. Clint McBain, 108; 11. John Sharrard, 106; 12. Frank Trombino, 96; 13. Philippe Cantin, 92; 14. Joshua Hayes, 80; 15. Dan Kruger, 70; 16. Jeffrey Sneyd, 55; 17. Csaba Werner, 54; 18. Jeff Williams, 51; 19. Murray Clift, 47; 20. Jean-Francois Cyr, 35; 21. Michel Lavallee, 33; 22. Kevin Lacombe, 31; 23 . Linnley Clarke, 29; 24. Dave Marcella, 19; 25. Alain Larouche, 16; 26. Mike Sullivan, 13; 27. Mark Orchard, 12; 28. Alain Quessy, 10; 29. Alex Howard, 10; 30. Steve Dick, 10; 31. Daniel Bergeron, 9; 32. Pat Potvin, 8; 33. Ryan Schwartz, 8; 34. Wayne Cor nwell, 6; 35. Christian Breault, 6; 36. Owen Weichel, 4; 37. Trevor Beckman, 4; 38. Jean-Philippe Begin, 4; 39. Rod Hall, 2; 40. Mark Lorentz, 2; 41. Tim Johnson, 1; 42. Scott Borthwick, 1; 43. Simon Field, 1

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series General
Drivers Jordan Szoke , Don Mills , Joshua Hayes , Rod Hall , Jeff Williams , Kevin Lacombe , Francis Martin , Frank Trombino , Frank Wilson , Mike Sullivan
Teams Williams