Motorsports Hall of Fame of America induction report

Motorsports Hall of Fame of America press release

Large and Enthusiastic Audience Helps Usher 2011 Inductees into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America in Black-Tie Celebration Tuesday Night in Detroit

Bobby Allison
Bobby Allison

Photo by: Eric Gilbert

DETROIT (August 25, 2011) – A large and enthusiastic audience of family, friends, fans and motorsports insiders gathered Tuesday in downtown Detroit to usher in an equally impressive, energetic and accomplished group of 2011 inductees at the 23rd Annual Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Induction Ceremony at the historic Fillmore Theater.

The colorful 2011 class included event attendees Donnie Allison (Stock Cars), Ed McCulloch (Drag Racing), Augie Pabst (Sports Cars) and Bruce Penhall (Motorcycles) as well as friends and family members that capably memorialized and accepted the honors for Sid Collins (At Large), Roger McCluskey (Open Wheel) and Ed Winfield (Historic). Among the presenters were current Hall members and motorsports legends Bobby Unser (McCluskey), “Big Daddy” Don Garlits (Winfield), Bobby Allison (Donnie Allison), and Roger Penske (Pabst) who were joined by a trio of expert broadcasters and announcers that included Donald Davidson (Collins), Larry Huffman (Penhall) and Bob Frey (McCulloch).

Road Racing champion and current television broadcaster David Hobbs shined in his debut performance as Master of Ceremonies while 2004 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champion and future Hall of Famer Kurt Busch (pictured) set the tone for the evening with an insightful and entertaining opening address as the evening’s Honorary Chairman.

“As a student of motorsport, a point I want to make is that I look through the window and see the legacy that you have created,” said Busch, in reference to the 2011 inductees and impressive turnout of other motorsports legends. “And as a young NASCAR champion, I feel it is my duty to walk through new doors to continue to build on that foundation, so thank you for what you have done.”

Penske, Busch’s NASCAR team owner, was the evening’s final presenter and enshrined Pabst, a longtime friend and former sports car competitor.

“When you go back and think about tonight, you are going to think about teamwork, you are going to think about passion, you’re going to think about winning,” Penske said. “And that’s the common thread that I see among all of these great people being inducted tonight, but I want to say something special about the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America here in Detroit. They stayed in Detroit, kept this great ceremony here as we have gone through some very tough times. As you know, I am a great supporter of Detroit, and as I said at the NASCAR Nationwide banquet a year ago, the lights are back on in Detroit, so thank you all for coming here tonight.”

The 2011 Induction Ceremony was the second for the Hall of Fame in its new relationship with the Detroit Science Center, which hosted Tuesday night’s “Heroes of Horsepower” reception where the new inductees and their representatives unveiled their permanent Hall of Fame sculptures. The full two days of celebration kicked off Tuesday afternoon with a Detroit Sports Broadcasters Luncheon at the Detroit Yacht Club that was attended by both Allison brothers, McCulloch, Pabst, Penhall, Unser, Frey and Huffman, along with a strong showing of past inductees and motorsports notables.

About the Motorsports Museum and Hall of Fame of America: The Motorsports Museum and Hall of Fame of America is operated by the nonprofit Motorsports Museum and Hall of Fame of America Foundation, Inc. Currently housed in the Detroit Science Center in the Motor City’s Museum District, the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America features the compelling stories of 188 Heroes of Horsepower along with the display of a wide variety of racing and high performance vehicles. The constantly changing collection features racers from the world of Indy cars, stock cars, sports cars, sprint cars, powerboats, truck racing, drag racing, motorcycles, air racing and even snowmobiles.

Motorsports Hall of Fame America 2011 Induction Class: The complete list of motorsports legends and pioneers enshrined into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America in 2011 includes racing pioneer Ed Winfield, legendary Sports Car driver Augie Pabst, USAC Champion and Indianapolis 500 driver Roger McCluskey, diverse Drag Racing legend Ed McCulloch, NASCAR icon Donnie Allison, Speedway Motorcycle World Champion Bruce Penhall and the legendary radio voice of the Indianapolis 500, announcer and broadcaster Sid Collins.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series General
Drivers Kurt Busch , Bobby Unser , David Hobbs , Don Garlits , Bobby Allison , Donnie Allison , Eric Gilbert , Roger Penske
Tags motorsports hall of fame, mshfa