Awards Banquet report

Ross Celebrates Second Kendall Series Championship Indianapolis, IN (January 13, 2002) & ...

Ross Celebrates Second Kendall Series Championship

Indianapolis, IN (January 13, 2002) – Plymouth, Indiana’s Brian Ross celebrated his second Kendall Late Model Series Championship Saturday night at the 2001 Kendall Late Model Series Season Awards Banquet held at the Embassy Suites North Hotel in Indianapolis, Indiana. Ross also claimed the series championship in 1999, he is the only driver to win more than one championship in the five-year history of the series.

“I want to thank Darin Odle for making all of this possible,” remarked Ross, “also I have to thank Phil Wade and Dan Coyer for all the late nights they worked in the shop and my wife Lori for putting up with us all season.” “The level of competition in the series has risen every year, so it’s a great honor to win the championship two out of the last three years.” “I would like to thank my sponsors Wade Construction, Sullivan R.V., Ultra Tech Racing Engines and AT Performance.”

In all Ross collected over $15,000 of the $51,650 in money and contingencies that was award to the top fifteen drivers in final series points. Ross also received Champions Jackets from Hoosier Racing Tire and Ultra Tech Racing Engines.

Sixteen-year-old Joel Kauffman received the Hubler Group Rookie Of The Year Award. Kauffman received $4,200 in money and contingencies for winning the rookie award, Kauffman finished sixth in the final series points.

Shepherdsville, Kentucky’s Bobby Parsley was named the 2001 TDR Screen Graphics Sportsman Of The Year. Parsley received a $600 bonus from TDR Screen Graphics, in addition to the money and contingencies for his tenth place finish in final series points.

Larry Nagle, Crew Chief for series point’s runner-up Scott Hantz, was awarded the Jasper Engines & Transmissions Crew Chief Of The Year Award. Nagle received a $600 bonus from Jasper Engines and Transmissions.

Peter Cozzolino received the Contractors Underground Fast Qualifier Award. Cozzolino led the series in fast times during the season with four. Cozzolino received a $1,000 bonus from Contractors Underground.

Terry Fisher, driver for veteran Kendall Series car owner Floyd Fehl, received the EMF Corporation Hang Tough bonus. Fisher finished 13th in the final series points with the lowest amount of top ten finishes of the top fifteen drivers during the season. Fisher received a $200 bonus from EMF Corporation.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series General
Drivers Terry Fisher , Brian Ross , Joel Kauffman