ARA Racefacts Bulletin 97-08-25 (1 of 2)

AUTO RACING ANALYSIS RACEFACTS BULLETIN August 24, 1997 Dale Jarrett (Ford Quality Care Yates Ford Thunderbird) won Sunday's Bristol Goodys Headache Powders 500 NASCAR Winston Cup race; the victory was his fourth of 1997, tying his ...

AUTO RACING ANALYSIS RACEFACTS BULLETIN August 24, 1997 Dale Jarrett (Ford Quality Care Yates Ford Thunderbird) won Sunday's Bristol Goodys Headache Powders 500 NASCAR Winston Cup race; the victory was his fourth of 1997, tying his career-best season win total of four in 1996. The win was his first Winston Cup victory on a "short track." The victory was not Dale Jarrett's first win at Bristol, however, as he won Bristol's August 23, 1991 NASCAR Busch Grand National race. Bristol joins Atlanta and Darlington as venues where both Dale and father Ned have scored NASCAR Winston Cup wins; Ned Jarrett won the July 25, 1965 Bristol NASCAR Winston Cup race! The win was only the second Winston Cup win at Bristol for Yates Racing, joining the April 8, 1990 victory scored by Davey Allison! Jarrett now has twelve career Winston Cup victories, the first eleven all coming on superspeedways in races of 400 miles or more in duration! The Bristol victory was his ninth for Yates Racing! With four of the six 1997 "short track" Winston Cup races completed, Jeff Gordon has two wins (Bristol and Martinsville) and Rusty Wallace (Richmond) and Dale Jarrett (Bristol) one apiece; Chevrolet and Ford are tied at two wins each. Ron Fellows (AER Manufacturing Billy Hess Chevrolet) won Sunday's Watkins Glen Parts America 150 NASCAR Craftsman Truck race, becoming the first Canadian to win in the Truck series and scoring the most prominent win by a Canadian in a NASCAR national touring series since Earl Ross won the September 29, 1974 Martinsville NASCAR Winston Cup race in a Junior Johnson Chevrolet! SCCA Trans-Am veteran Fellows stretched his streak of scoring at least one major North American pro series win per season to twelve seasons (1986-1997) with the victory; the Craftsman Truck series joins the Canadian GM Challenge and Firehawk series and the SCCA Trans-Am series on Ron's win list! Fellows won the 1994 and 1995 Watkins Glen SCCA Trans-Ams! Other most recent major victories in NASCAR touring series by Canadians? Gary Smith, May 20, 1995, Wenatchee Valley, Northwest Tour; Roy Smith, September 30, 1990, Tri-City, Winston West; Larry Caron, July 1, 1989, Holland, Grand National North; Trevor Boys, April 2, 1984, Greenville, All-American Challenge; Don Biederman, June 24, 1982, Mt. Clemens, Grand American (Don's most recent win in the old Late Model Sportsman National points series: July 17, 1977 Oxford Plains); Gary Kershaw, November 22, 1981, Riverside, Winston West; Jean-Paul Cabana, April 23, 1978, Catamount, NASCAR LMS National (Jean-Paul's first LMS National win came when he finished ninth overall and first LMS, February 17, 1962 at Daytona); and Denis Giroux, September 4, 1972, Stafford 200 Modified National event. Bob Senneker (JR Automation Ford Thunderbird) won Sunday's Milwaukee Trak Auto 200 ASA AC-Delco Challenge event as he scored his all-time record 83rd win in the series and extended Ford's streak of ASA seasons with at least one win to six seasons, 1992-1997. Senneker has won at least one ASA AC-Delco Challenge race in 23 seasons, failing to win only in 1987 from 1974 through 1997! Bob first appears in ARA's racewinning records on July 28, 1967 when he won the Berlin 100 Super Stock race! Andrea De Lorenzi (Caffe Essse Tatuus) swept the two-race Watkins Glen season finale of the U.S. Formula Ford 2000 series to become the season's only three-time racewinner! Two-time 1997 racewinner Zak Morioka (KFC of Brazil Van Diemen) finished fourth in both events to win the 1997 title! The series produced nine winners, all first-time series victors, consecutively, in its first nine 1997 events! Jimmy Spencer (Zippo Spencer Chevrolet Monte Carlo) won Saturday's Bristol Food City 250 NASCAR Busch Grand National race. The victory was Spencer's first BGN win of 1997 as he became the twelfth driver to win a 1997 BGN event. The win was Spencer's sixth in the series, all in GM products! He won the 1989 Hickory, Orange County, and Myrtle Beach BGN races in Buicks and the 1992 Myrtle Beach and Orange County BGN events in Oldsmobiles! The 1996 and 1997 Bristol BGN events followed a pattern: the first race was won by a Roush Ford entry (Mark Martin in 1996, Jeff Burton in 1997) and the second event by a Chevrolet driver scoring his first win of the season (Jeff Fuller in 1996, Spencer in 1997). Michael Schumacher (Ferrari) won Sunday's Belgian GP at Spa, his third consecutive victory at Spa and fourth at the venue (joining his 1992 victory)! Schumacher is the sixth driver to take consecutive victories at Spa (he won in 1995 driving a Benetton-Renault prior to his 1996 and 1997 Ferrari wins) and his three-race streak ranks second all-time at Spa behind four-race win streaks by Jimmy Clark (1962-1963-1964-1965 in Coventry Climax-powered Lotus entries) and Ayrton Senna (1988-89-90-91 in Honda-powered in McLarens)! Two-race win streaks were achieved by Alberto Ascari (1952-53 for Ferrari), Juan Manuel Fangio (1954 for Maserati, 1955 for Mercedes), and Damon Hill (1993-1994 for Williams-Renault). Schumacher and Ascari are the only Ferrari drivers with two (and two consecutive) Spa wins; the others were scored by Peter Collins (1956), Phil Hill (1961), and John Surtees (1966). Senna is the all-time leader in Spa wins with five, followed by Clark and Schumacher with four wins each, Fangio with three, and Ascari, Damon Hill, and Alain Prost with two apiece as seven drivers have won 22 of the 32 Spa World Driver Championship events. Ten other drivers (Giuseppe Farina, Peter Collins, Tony Brooks, Jack Brabham, Phil Hill, John Surtees, Dan Gurney, Bruce McLaren, Pedro Rodriguez, and Nigel Mansell) have one win each as 17 drivers have won at Spa. Eighteen World Championship events were held at Spa between 1950-1970; the "modern era" at Spa has seen the venue used fourteen times, in 1983 plus 1985 through 1997! The last ten (1988-1997) Spa events have been won by only three drivers: Ayrton Senna, Damon Hill, and Michael Schumacher! Ferrari now leads the Constructors in all-time Spa wins with 7; McLaren is next with six followed by Lotus with five, Williams with 3, Alfa Romeo and Benetton at two apiece, and Maserati, Mercedes, Vanwall, Cooper, Eagle, BRM, and Renault with one apiece. The record Spa win streak for Constructors is held by McLaren with five (1987-91), four by Honda-powered McLarens (1988-91). Coventry Climax-powered Lotus cars won four straight (1962-65). Ferrari also leads the Engine Manufacturers in Spa wins with 7; Coventry Climax, Honda and Renault are next with five wins apiece. Alfa Romeo and Cosworth Ford have two wins apiece, with Maserati, Mercedes, Vanwall, Gurney Weslake Ford, BRM, and TAG Porsche at one apiece.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series General
Drivers Jeff Burton , Jeff Gordon , Dale Jarrett , Rusty Wallace , Michael Schumacher , Jimmy Spencer , Nigel Mansell , Ron Fellows , Pedro Rodriguez , Alberto Ascari , Peter Collins , Phil Hill , Dan Gurney , Ned Jarrett , Bruce McLaren , Alain Prost , Ayrton Senna , Damon Hill , Juan Manuel Fangio , Gary Smith , Jack Brabham , Junior Johnson , John Surtees , Tony Brooks , Trevor Boys , Davey Allison
Teams Williams , Yates Racing