Spa NEC: Norris doubles up after epic duel with Defourny

Lando Norris was victorious in the second Formula Renault 2.0 NEC race at Spa-Francorchamps after a feisty battle with Max Defourny.

Spa NEC: Norris doubles up after epic duel with Defourny

Unlike on Friday, it was bright and sunny at Spa for Race 2 as Norris led the way at the start.

Meanwhile, Defourny slotted in to second after overtaking Sacha Fenestraz and James Allen at Turn 1.

However, the field was bunched up straightaway when the safety car was out to collect the cars of Will Palmer and Jehan Daruvala.

Having been unable to set a time in a red-flagged Qualifying 2, the duo started from the back of the grid.

The Indian spun at Les Combes after he was tagged from behind and Palmer, unable to take evasive action, went airborne into the tyre barrier.

After two laps behind the SC, the race got going and Defourny swept past Norris as both continued to fight throughout the lap.

Norris took it back going around the outside of the R-ace GP car at Blanchimont in a brave move but the Belgian once again had the upper hand at Turn 1 to go into the lead.

Defourny then managed to hold on until the penultimate lap, when Norris came back at him to overtake at Turn 1.

But Defourny re-took the spot at Les Combes only to make a mistake at Bruxelles, giving Norris the opportunity to dive to the inside and take the lead.

The British driver took the chequered flag first to take his second win of the weekend and become the new championship leader.

Behind the lead battle, Fenestraz finished third, having defended well from a fighting duo of Allen and Alex Gill.

At the restart, Gill took fourth place from Allen but with two laps remaining the Australian fought back to retake the position as the former ended up fifth.

Dorian Boccolacci was sixth ahead of Ferdinand Habsburg, who made up six places, having started the race from 13th.

Robert Shwartzman eventually finished eighth, having dropped to 11th while taking evasive action from a spinning Bartlomiej Mirecki on the first lap.

The top 10 was completed by Henrique Chaves and Hugo de Sadeleer, the latter making up 10 places from 20th on the grid.

Race 2 results:

 PosDriver Team Laps  Time/Gap
Lando Norris Josef Kaufmann Racing 10 27'09.840
Max Defourny R-ace GP 10 0.722
Sacha Fenestraz Tech 1 Racing 10 2.640
James Allen JD Motorsport 10 3.060
Alex Gill Mark Burdett Motorsport 10 4.315
Dorian Boccolacci Tech 1 Racing 10 4.904
Ferdinand Habsburg Fortec Motorsports 10 8.502
Robert Shwartzman Josef Kaufmann Racing 10 9.086
Henrique Chaves Jr. AVF 10 9.998
10  Hugo de Sadeleer Tech 1 Racing 10 10.431
11  Vasiliy Romanov Fortec Motorsports 10 12.271
12  Julien Falchero R-ace GP 10 12.969
13  Nikita Troitskiy Fortec Motorsports 10 14.756
14  Alexey Korneev JD Motorsport 10 15.446
15  Laurents Horr Dutt Motorsport 10 20.461
16  Gabriel Aubry Tech 1 Racing 10 21.433
17  Bartek Mirecki BM Racing Team 10 22.006
18  Antoni Ptak Cram Motorsport 10 26.678
19  Bruno Baptista Fortec Motorsports 10 29.587
20  Kasper Larsen KEO Racing 10 31.578
21  Nerses Isaakyan AVF 10 34.228
22  Finlay Hutchison Mark Burdett Motorsport 10 34.669
23  Thomas Neubauer Formula Motorsport 10 36.908
24  Nicolas Melin Formula Motorsport 10 37.223
25  Pietro Peccenini TS Corse 10 43.391
26  Julia Pankiewicz AVF 10 43.613
27  P.Haezebrouck Formula Motorsport 10 1'12.480
28  Ghislain Cordeel JD Motorsport 10 2'04.326
Jehan Daruvala Josef Kaufmann Racing 0  
Will Palmer R-ace GP 0
Spa NEC: Norris controls wet Race 1

Previous article

Spa NEC: Norris controls wet Race 1

Next article

Assen NEC: Norris keeps points lead, shares wins with Defourny

Assen NEC: Norris keeps points lead, shares wins with Defourny
Load comments