Spa Eurocup: Norris secures title, Boccolacci wins Race 2

Dorian Boccolacci took his second win of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 season at Spa-Francorchamps, beating newly crowned champion Lando Norris.

Spa Eurocup: Norris secures title, Boccolacci wins Race 2
Max Defourny, R-ace GP
Lando Norris, Josef Kaufmann Racing
Will Palmer, R-ace GP
Jehan Daruvala, Josef Kaufmann Racing
Hugo De Sadeleer, Tech 1 Racing
Julien Falchero, R-ace GP
Dorian Boccolacci, Tech 1 Racing
Harrison Scott, AVF by Adrian Valles
Ghislain Cordeel, JD Motorsport

Race 1 winner Hugo de Sadeleer made a decisive move on Lap 1 over polesitter Max Defourny and front-row starter Jehan Daruvala on Les Combes to take the lead of the race.

While de Sadeleer extended his lead upfront, Defourny battled with Daruvala for second place with the Indian taking the spot from the Belgian, going off-track around the outside at Blanchimont.

And Defourny's slump continued from that point on, the Belgian having damaged his front wing over the kerbs on Lap 1 and eventually pitting after losing chunk of places.

Meanwhile, Force India protégé Daruvala lost second place to a faster Boccolacci, with the third Tech 1 car of Sacha Fenestraz joining the battle.

With de Sadeleer leading Boccolacci, Fenestraz made it a Tech 1 Racing 1-2-3 for a brief moment, after the Frenchman banged wheels with Daruvala, the Indian suffering minor wing damage in the process.

That allowed Norris to slot into fourth with Daruvala fending AVF’s Harrison Scott, just after Will Palmer spun on his own from fourth to drop down the order.

The Indian was then given a 10-second time penalty for his off-track overtaking move on Defourny. To add to his torrid run, he later on collided with JD Motorsport’s James Allen on Les Combes when fighting for sixth.

The incident where Daruvala's front left hit Allen's right rear ended both their races is under investigation.

Up ahead, Boccolacci closed in on teammate de Sadeleer and went past the Swiss driver for the lead, as Norris passed Fenestraz for the final podium spot at the same time.

With Boccolacci managing to preserve the lead ahead, Norris was able to make a move on de Sadeleer to take second and secure the 2016 title with just two races remaining.

The British driver has a 59 points lead over second-placed Boccolacci and with only 50 points up for grabs in the season finale, the 2016 title fight is now over.

It is Norris' third title in junior single-seaters, the Briton having already won the British MSA Formula champonship and New Zealand's Toyota Racing Series.

With de Sadeleer completing the podium, Fenestraz held on to fourth, as Tech 1 enjoyed a fruitful weekend with a 1-3-4 finish, building on its Race 1 result.

Behind the top four, Scott was a lonely fifth, with guest driver Nikita Troitskiy a strong sixth after early hiccups in the race.

Julien Falchero was the lead R-ace GP driver in seventh as AVF's Henrique Chaves Jr. fended off a recovering Palmer for eighth.

Fortec's Ferdinand Habsburg had a subdued weekend, rounding off the top 10 to score the last point.

Race 2 results:

 PosDriver Team Laps  Time  Delay 
Dorian Boccolacci Tech 1 Racing 12 27'48.737  
Lando Norris Josef Kaufmann Racing 12 27'49.381 0.644
Hugo de Sadeleer Tech 1 Racing 12 27'49.922 1.185
Sacha Fenestraz Tech 1 Racing 12 27'50.382 1.645
Harrison Scott AVF by Adrian Valles 12 27'53.989 5.252
Nikita Troitskiy Fortec Motorsports 12 27'59.037 10.300
Julien Falchero R-ace GP 12 28'02.274 13.537
Henrique Chaves Jr. AVF by Adrian Valles 12 28'05.216 16.479
Will Palmer R-ace GP 12 28'05.407 16.670
10  Ferdinand Habsburg Fortec Motorsports 12 28'06.437 17.700
11  Bruno Baptista Fortec Motorsports 12 28'06.933 18.196
12  Alexey Korneev JD Motorsport 12 28'07.042 18.305
13  Alessandro Perullo Technorace 12 28'16.269 27.532
14  Robert Shwartzman Josef Kaufmann Racing 12 28'23.923 35.186
15  Max Defourny R-ace GP 12 28'48.173 59.436
James Allen JD Motorsport 6 13'54.359  
Jehan Daruvala Josef Kaufmann Racing 6 14'04.048  
Gabriel Aubry Tech 1 Racing 1 2'11.871  
Ghislain Cordeel GMMA Formula Racing 0  
Spa Eurocup: De Sadeleer takes maiden win after Defourny's jump start

Previous article

Spa Eurocup: De Sadeleer takes maiden win after Defourny's jump start

Next article

Hockenheim NEC: Norris secures his third title of 2016

Hockenheim NEC: Norris secures his third title of 2016
Load comments