Renault 2008 season review

A first for Daniel Ricciardo Whether in Formula Renault 2.0 or in the Clio Cup the majority of European Championships are now over. From Finland to Italy here are the results of the Renault Sport Championships. Daniel Ricciardo had a very busy...

A first for Daniel Ricciardo

Whether in Formula Renault 2.0 or in the Clio Cup the majority of European Championships are now over. From Finland to Italy here are the results of the Renault Sport Championships.

Daniel Ricciardo had a very busy end to the year with 8 races in 3 weekends, and the Australian emerged champion of the very first Formula Renault 2.0 West European Cup. The SG Formula driver won the title in the last round on the Barcelona circuit from Spaniard Roberto Mehri.

At the other end of Europe Valterri Bottas won the Formula Renault 2.0 NEC a few weeks before finishing first in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0. The Finn came first from Antonio Felix da Costa and Tobias Hegewald. In Italy, Norwegian Pal Varhaug (photo) emerged victorious in the title chase in spite of an end-of-season charge by Italian Michele Faccin. Briton Adam Christodoulou and Swiss Christophe Zanella also won their respective championships. Only in Asia is the title still to be awarded between Geoffrey Kwang and Jim Ka To. Ricciardo, Mehri, da Costa, Hegewald, Varhaug, Christodolou, Zanella, Kwong, Costa, Vautier and Krohn have been asked to test the Formula Renault 3.5 on 5th November on the Paul Ricard HTTT circuit.

In the Clio Cup Maxime Martin had a great finish to the season pipping Nicolas Milan for the French Cup. The Belgian also filled the runner-up spot in the European Megane Trophy. Francois Verbist won the title in Belgium while in the Netherlands Pim van Riel beat Paul Vahstal. Simone di Luca won the category in Italy in his first full season. Daniel Hadorn dominated the Swiss championship. Ben Winrow led from the first meeting on the Brands Hatch circuit and went on to win the UK Clio Cup. In Spain, Antonio de la Reina won the Clio Cup before the last 2 rounds on the Jerez circuit.

The end of the season was also marked by the first run of the new Megane Trophy. It was unveiled at the Paris Motor Show and is a radical departure from the 2008 car as its lines follow those of the new Megane Coupe. The Renault Technocentre designers used CFD (Computational Fluid Dynamics) technology to come up with the car’s fluid lines. These have resulted in improved aerodynamic performances: + 20% in downforce and - 15% in drag. Putting these 2 data together has led to an improvement in the car’s streamlining of almost 40%. The 3.5-litre V6 24-valve engine’s power output has been increased to 360 bhp with revisions every 5500 kilometres. Look out for this car next season in the World Series by Renault meetings!


1. Daniel Ricciardo (SG Formula) 192 pts
2. Roberto Merhi (Epsilon Euskadi) 184 pts
3. Andrea Caldarelli (SG Formula) 129 pts
4. Jean-Eric Vergne (SG Formula) 95 pts
5. Albert Costa (Epsilon Euskadi) 85 pts


1. Valterri Bottas (Motopark Academy) 365 pts
2. Antonio Felix da Costa (Motopark) 279 pts
3. Tobias Hegewald (Motopark) 260 pts
4. Stef Dusseldorp (Van Amersfoort) 224 pts
5. Johan Jokinen (Motopark Academy) 224 pts


1. Pal Varhaug (Jenzer Motorsport) 330 pts
2. Michele Faccin (Jenzer Motorsport) 271 pts
3. Niki Sebastiani (IT Loox) 270 pts
4. Adrian Quaife-Hobbs (BVM Minardi) 250 pts
5. Sergio Campana (Co2 Motorsport) 238 pts


1. Adam Christodoulou (CR Scuderia) 472 pts
2. Alexander Sims (Manor Motorsport) 449 pts
3. Adriano Buzaid (Fortec Motorsport) 418 pts
4. Dean Stoneman (Alpine Motorsport) 377 pts
5. Riki Christodoulou (Fortec) 374 pts


1. Ollie Hancock (Apotex Scorpio) 130 pts
2. Johannes Seidlitz (Mark Burdett) 101 pts
3. Isa Yousif (Alpine Motorsport) 92 pts
4. Menasheh Idafar (Hillspeed) 77 pts
5. Ahmad Al Harthy (Hillspeed) 68 pts


1. Christopher Zanella 249 pts
2. Simon Trummer 244 pts
3. Yair Godinez 193 pts
4. Genis Olive Juve 179 pts
4. Nico Mueller 174 pts


1. Geoffrey Kwong 252 pts
2. Jim Ka To 248 pts
3. Cao Hong Wei 218 pts
4. Luis Jorge Sa Silva 145 pts
5. Ryan Haryanto 139 pts


1. Antonio de la Reina 361 pts
2. Miguel Gallego 240 pts
3. Gonzalo Martin de Andres 201 pts
4. Jordi Palomeras 199 pts
5. Daniel Mesalles 190 pts


1. Francois Verbist 138 pts
2. "Mich" 123 pts
3. Stian Paulsen 93 pts
4. Guillaume Dumarey 78 pts
5. JJ Magalhaes 75 pts


1. Maxime Martin 117 pts
2. Nicolas Milan 117 pts
3. Marc Guillot 109 pts
4. Aurelien Comte 95 pts
5. Laurent Fradetal 91 pts


1. Simone di Luca 150 pts
2. Giancarlo Lenzotti 126 pts
3. Nicola Rinaldi 126 pts
4. Nicola Baldan 122 pts
5. Ronnie Marchetti 112 pts


1. Pim van Riet 195 pts
2. Paul Vahstal 192 pts
3. Sandra van der Sloot 179 pts
4. Addi van de Ven 143 pts
5. Robert van den Berg 135 pts


1. Daniel Hadorn 219 pts
2. Lukas Ryf 148 pts
3. Andreas Stucki 112 pts
4. Reto Wuest 105 pts
5. Rene Leutenegger 102 pts


1. Ben Winrow 496 pts
2. Paul Rivett 437 pts
3. Phil Glew 345 pts
4. Carl Bradley 278 pts
5. Niki Lanik 262 pts


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula Renault , Formula V8 3.5
Drivers Niki Sebastiani , Nicolas Milan , Francois Verbist , Tobias Hegewald , Maxime Martin , Paul Rivet , Daniel Ricciardo , Albert Costa , Adrian Quaife-Hobbs , Roberto Merhi , Andrea Caldarelli , Aurélien Comte , Laurent Fradetal , Marc Guillot , Michele Faccin , Sergio Campana , Alexander Sims , Pal Varhaug , Antonio Felix da Costa , Adriano Buzaid , Riki Christodoulou , Adam Christodoulou , Christopher Zanella , Johan Jokinen , Niki Lanik , Ollie Hancock , Stef Dusseldorp , Jean-Eric Vergne , Dean Stoneman , Simon Trummer , Menasheh Idafar , Daniel Hadorn , Sandra van der Sloot , Jim Ka To , Martin Cao , Ahmad Al Harthy
Teams Jenzer Motorsport