Monza Eurocup: Norris dominates Race 1

Lando Norris was dominant in the opening race of the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup weekend at Monza, beating polesitter Dorian Boccolacci by 0.532s.

Monza Eurocup: Norris dominates Race 1

The Josef Kaufmann Racing driver having started on the front row alongside Boccolacci and took the lead going into Turn 1.

The British driver then led the race keeping a healthy gap to Tech 1 Racing driver, eventually finishing over half a second to take his third win of the season.

AVF’s Harrison Scott was third after overtaking Sacha Fenestraz at the start, with Robert Shwartzman completing the top five.

Fenestraz was all over the back of Scott with a few laps remaining but the British driver held on to claim his third podium finish - the pair separated by a mere 0.267s when chequered flag fell.

Behind the top five, Will Palmer held off charging Force India protégé Jehan Daruvala to take sixth after losing out to Shwartzman earlier in the race.

The Indian, having had a spin during qualifying, started 16th and made up nine places to eventually finish seventh, 0.514s off Palmer.

The top 10 was completed by Max Defourny in eighth, Aleksey Korneev ninth and Hugo de Sadeleer 10th.

Race 1 results:

PosDriver Team Time  Delay 
Lando Norris Josef Kaufmann Racing 27'47.123  
Dorian Boccolacci Tech 1 Racing 27'47.655 0.532
Harrison Scott AVF by Adrian Valles 27'59.661 12.538
Sacha Fenestraz Tech 1 Racing 27'59.928 12.805
Robert Shwartzman Josef Kaufmann Racing 28'00.456 13.333
Will Palmer R-ace GP 28'02.248 15.125
Jehan Daruvala Josef Kaufmann Racing 28'02.762 15.639
Max Defourny R-ace GP 28'06.241 19.118
Alexey Korneev JD Motorsport 28'07.698 20.575
10  Hugo de Sadeleer Tech 1 Racing 28'10.229 23.106
11  Vasiliy Romanov Fortec Motorsports 28'13.283 26.160
12  Nikita Mazepin AVF by Adrian Valles 28'14.323 27.200
13  Julien Falchero R-ace GP 28'15.623 28.500
14  Nerses Isaakyan AVF by Adrian Valles 28'18.526 31.403
15  Petru Florescu AVF by Adrian Valles 28'26.680 39.557
16  Henrique Chaves Jr. AVF by Adrian Valles 28'31.599 44.476
17  A.Perullo Technorace 28'39.748 52.625
18  David Richert Cram Motorsport 28'40.124 53.001
19  James Allen JD Motorsport 27'52.188  
Ret Gabriel Aubry Tech 1 Racing 21'00.555  
Ret Ferdinand Habsburg Fortec Motorsports 21'02.759  
Ret Nikita Troitskiy Fortec Motorsports 13'17.097  
Ret Colin Noble MGR Motorsport    
Ret Bruno Baptista Fortec Motorsports  
Hungaroring NEC: Daruvala takes maiden Formula Renault win

Previous article

Hungaroring NEC: Daruvala takes maiden Formula Renault win

Next article

Monza Eurocup: Boccolacci takes maiden win amid chaos

Monza Eurocup: Boccolacci takes maiden win amid chaos
Load comments