Formula 1
11 Sep
Event finished
25 Sep
Race in
13 Hours
00 Minutes
08 Seconds
25 Sep
Warm Up in
10 Hours
30 Minutes
08 Seconds
Formula E NASCAR Cup
Las Vegas II
27 Sep
Race in
1 day
12 Sep
Event finished
12 Nov
Next event in
46 days
18 Sep
Event finished
26 Sep
Qualifying 2 in
01 Hours
30 Minutes
08 Seconds

Estoril Eurocup: Fenestraz wins final race of the season

Estoril Eurocup: Fenestraz wins final race of the season

Sacha Fenestraz was victorious in the season finale of Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 at Estoril, while Lando Norris collected the 12th podium of his title-winning campaign.

Tech 1’s Fenestraz led the way from pole with AVF’s Henrique Chaves demoting Max Defourny and Norris in the order.

While Fenestraz continued to lead, Chaves came under immense pressure from Defourny, who made quick work of the Portuguese to move to second.

His perils didn't end as Chaves lost another place to Norris soon afterwards.

The 2016 champion then caught up with Defourny ahead as the battle for second position ensued.

Up ahead, Fenestraz eased to his second win of the season in damp conditions at Estoril, with Norris coming home in second.

The British driver managed to get Defourny on the penultimate lap, taking the inside line into the corner, with the Belgian having no pace to challenge back.

Behind the top three, series vice-champion Dorian Boccolacci overtook Chaves to finish fourth, the AVF driver then attacked by Robert Shwartzman, whom he managed to keep at bay in the end.

Meanwhile, Hugo de Sadeleer cleared Harrison Scott for seventh and Bruo Baptista likewise overtook rookie Marcus Armstrong on the finish line for ninth.

The Kiwi wildcard entrant led a train of four cars starting the final lap, and, while he was beaten by Baptista, he stayed ahead of Force India protege Jehan Daruvala and Julien Falchero.

Race 2 results:

PosDriver Team Laps  Time  Gap
Sacha Fenestraz Tech 1 Racing 15 27'25.170  
Lando Norris Josef Kaufmann Racing 15 27'27.134 1.964
Max Defourny R-ace GP 15 27'31.493 6.323
Dorian Boccolacci Tech 1 Racing 15 27'36.489 11.319
Henrique Chaves Jr. AVF by Adrian Valles 15 27'40.768 15.598
Robert Shwartzman Josef Kaufmann Racing 15 27'41.167 15.997
Hugo de Sadeleer Tech 1 Racing 15 27'46.827 21.657
Harrison Scott AVF by Adrian Valles 15 27'49.228 24.058
Bruno Baptista Fortec Motorsports 15 27'56.145 30.975
10  Marcus Armstrong R-ace GP 15 27'57.165 31.995
11  Jehan Daruvala Josef Kaufmann Racing 15 27'57.608 32.438
12  Julien Falchero R-ace GP 15 27'58.020 32.850
13  James Allen JD Motorsport 15 27'58.805 33.635
14  Ferdinand Habsburg Fortec Motorsports 15 27'59.500 34.330
15  Gabriel Aubry Tech 1 Racing 15 28'00.274 35.104
16  Nikita Troitskiy Fortec Motorsports 15 28'03.360 38.190
17  Alexandr Vartanyan Fortec Motorsports 15 28'05.741 40.571
18  Alex Peroni TS Corse 15 28'08.196 43.026
19  Alexey Korneev JD Motorsport 15 28'08.533 43.363
20  Frankie Bird Fortec Motorsports 15 28'08.983 43.813
21  Ghislain Cordeel GMMA Formula Racing 15 28'10.075 44.905
22  Will Palmer R-ace GP 15 29'10.706 1'45.536
Estoril Eurocup: Palmer inherits win after Norris and Defourny collide

Previous article

Estoril Eurocup: Palmer inherits win after Norris and Defourny collide

Next article

Dias to make Asian Formula Renault debut in season finale

Dias to make Asian Formula Renault debut in season finale
Load comments

About this article

Series Formula Renault
Event Estoril
Location Circuito Estoril
Drivers Sacha Fenestraz
Teams Tech 1 Racing
Author Darshan Chokhani