BFREN: Outlton Park testing report 2002-03-20

Watts fastest in Oulton Park test Danny Watts (Northampton) set what stood as the fastest time in official Formula Renault UK Championship testing at Oulton Park on Tuesday, 19th March, despite leaving early for a flight to Dubai to take part in...

Watts fastest in Oulton Park test

Danny Watts (Northampton) set what stood as the fastest time in official Formula Renault UK Championship testing at Oulton Park on Tuesday, 19th March, despite leaving early for a flight to Dubai to take part in a kart race meeting!

Fortec Motorsport's Watts, never outside the top four so far in testing, benefited from extra grip on a new set of tyres during the morning before leaving for the airport. Many expected his time to eventually be beaten but when an accident involving an Elf Clio Cup competitor meant the day was cut short for barrier repairs, drivers were denied a final run on new tyres and he stayed at the top.

Multiple title-winning team Manor Motorsport enjoyed a very strong test with three of its drivers in the top six: Ireland's Matt Griffin (Blarney) was second - just a fraction slower than Watts - 17-year-old Briton Lewis Hamilton (Tewin, Welwyn) third and American Patrick Long (Bedford) fifth.

Meanwhile, Paston Racing's Mark McLoughlin (Milton Keynes) - fastest in testing last week at Croft - was fourth overall and reigning champion team Motaworld Racing's winter title-winner Robert Bell (Newcastle-upon-Tyne) sixth.

Swede Robin Rudholm (Milton Keynes), sixth quickest at Croft, again impressed in seventh for Falcon Motorsport to make it four teams in the top seven. Motaworld's Gary Turkington (Portadown), experienced Formula Renault racer Leighton Walker (Stoke-on-Trent) - deputising for Status Motorsport's ill regular driver, Japanese Takahiro Ito - and Fortec's Brazilian Luciano Garcia (Daventry) completed the top 10. His team-mate Jamie Green (Broughton Astley) was 11th and Mackie Motorsport's reigning McLaren/Autosport Young Driver of the Year Steven Kane (Ballynahinch) 12th.

Both the championship's two female racers, Fortec's Katherine Legge (Haslemere) and Team DFR's Susie Stoddart (Oban), again impressed in 13th and 21st positions, although each felt confident of being higher up the order had they got a chance to run on new tyres.

Ace Dutch single-seater racer Ricardo van der Ende, aged 22, a past-winner of the prestigious Formula Ford Festival, has joined Aztec International for the Formula Renault UK Championship, meaning nine nationalities are now represented on the grid.

Frenchman James Andanson, a regular in last year's UK Championship, tested for the Saxon International team at Oulton. <pre> Formula Renault UK Championship Official Test: Oulton Park, Cheshire Date: Tuesday 19th March 2002 Weather: Overcast/Cool/Dry

Pos/Driver (NAT)                        Entrant                 Time
1. Danny Watts (GBR)                    Fortec Motorsport               1m20.376s
2. Matt Griffin (IRL)                   Manor Motorsport                1m20.424s
3. Lewis Hamilton (GBR)                 Manor Motorsport                1m20.520s
4. Mark McLoughlin (GBR)                Paston Racing                   1m20.644s
5. Patrick Long (USA)                   Manor Motorsport                1m20.839s
6. Robert Bell (GBR)                    Motaworld Racing                1m20.842s
7. Robin Rudholm (SWE)                  Falcon Motorsport               1m21.064s
8. Gary Turkington (GBR)                Motaworld Racing                1m21.285s
9. Leighton Walker (GBR)                Status Motorsport               1m21.313s
10. Luciano Garcia (BRA)                Fortec Motorsport               1m21.389s
11. Jamie Green (GBR)                   Fortec Motorsport               1m21.406s
12. Steven Kane (GBR)                   Mackie Motorsport               1m21.444s
13. Katherine Legge (GBR)               Fortec Motorsport               1m21.463s
14. Alex Lloyd (GBR)                    Motaworld Racing                1m21.533s
15. Alex Buncombe (GBR)                 Saxon International             1m21.651s
16. Keith Dempsey (GIRL)                Cliff Dempsey Racing            1m21.696s
17. Ben Reeves (GBR)                    Falcon Motorsport               1m21.702s
18. Will Davison (AUS)                  Motaworld Racing                1m21.703s
19. Ryan Sharp (GBR)                    John Village Automotive         1m21.741s
20. Robert Scott (IRL)                  Aztec International             1m21.760s
21. Susie Stoddart (GBR)                Team DFR                        1m21.820s
22. James Andanson (FRA)                Saxon International             1m21.991s
23. James Murphy (IRL)                  Paston Racing                   1m22.080s
24. Ernesto José Viso (VEN)             Manor Motorsport                1m22.149s
25. Stefan Soderberg (SWE)              John Village Automotive         1m22.242s
26. James Rossiter (GBR)                Falcon Motorsport               1m22.379s
27. Ricardo van der Ende (NDL)          Aztec International             1m22.480s
28. Ivor McCullough (IRL)               Status Motorsport               1m22.843s
29. Charles Hollings (GBR)              Mackie Motorsport               1m23.295s
30. Oliver Scullion (GBR)               Scorpio Motorsport              1m23.485s
31. Philip Kershaw (IRL)                Status Motorsport               1m23.795s
32. David Hall (IRL)                    Scorpio Motorsport              1m24.276s
33. Vasilije Calasan (FRA)              John Village Automotive         1m25.317s


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula Renault
Drivers Lewis Hamilton , Ben Reeves , Charles Hollings , Gary Turkington , Katherine Legge , Patrick Long , Ricardo van der Ende , Robert Scott , Vasilije Calasan , Will Davison , Ivor McCullough , Robin Rudholm , Steven Kane , Alex Lloyd , James Rossiter , James Murphy , Stefan Soderberg , Ryan Sharp , Jamie Green , Alex Buncombe , Danny Watts , Matt Griffin