MSA Formula officially renamed as British F4

MSA Formula officially renamed as British F4
May 3, 2016, 8:53 AM

The UK-based MSA Formula series has officially been re-designated as the 'F4 British Championship' with immediate effect.

MSA Formula had its inaugural season last year, replacing the defunct British Formula Ford series and becoming part of the BTCC support bill.

It was the UK version of the FIA's officially Formula 4 concept, which began with the creation of the Italian championship in 2014, but could not be named as such as Jonathan Palmer's BRDC F4 series held the rights to the F4 name in the UK.

However, with BRDC F4 being renamed British Formula 3 following an agreement with the FIA to licence the category as a national F3 series, it paved the way for MSA Formula to inherit the F4 name officially.

This weekend's Thruxton round will be the series' first using the new 'F4 British Championship' title.

Stefano Domenicali, President of the FIA Single Seater Commission, said: “Given the global reach of FIA Formula 4, it is both natural and essential that the category establishes a strong base in the UK and continues growing from there.

“The MSA Formula series was well-established in the UK, and I welcome the addition of the globally-recognised F4 brand – further providing a basis to compare drivers competing in the same category around the world.

“On behalf of the FIA, I must thank the MSA and their major partner, Ford, for ensuring the appropriate recognition of the FIA Formula 4 category in the UK.”

Max Fewtrell currently leads the standings by 13 points after the first two rounds at Brands Hatch at Donington Park, with Petru Florescu and Sennan Fielding tied for second.

Next article
Shootout for U.S. F4 drivers

Previous article

Shootout for U.S. F4 drivers

Next article

Sophia Floersch: A weekend of what-ifs at Sachsenring

Sophia Floersch: A weekend of what-ifs at Sachsenring
Load comments

About this article

Series Formula 4
Author Jamie Klein
Be first to get
breaking news