A new format for the Formula Tour 1600 Series

The Formula Tour series for Formula 1600 single seater will undoubtedly continue to attract racers from North America in 2016.

The organizers of the series announced a new format for all meetings. From now on, there will be three races per race weekend, for a total of 18 rounds. Only the 15 best results will count for the final points standings.

The promoters also unveiled a new class structure. The A Class (as per OFFC rules) will be for 1995 chassis and earlier, powered by a Honda or a Ford engine. The B Class (as per OFFC rules) will be for 1994 chassis and older, powered by Ford engine 1600cc Kent only.

Ahead of the 2016 season, the Formula Tour 1600 also became an Official Feeder Series of the Mazda Road to Indy program.

This means the 2016 title will come with a spot in the prestigious Scolarship Shootout, during which the champions of all Feeder Series will vie for a $200,000 scholarship and a seat in the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda, step one of the world’s premier open-wheel development ladder—the Mazda Road to Indy.

India’s MRF 1600 Championship, Mexico’s Formula Panam and Canada’s Formula Tour 1600 are the latest and final additions to the inaugural Scolarship Shootout, which will take place in the fall of 2016.

Jodoin, 2015 Champion

Jean-Philippe Jodoin has captured the title of the 2015 Formula Tour 1600 series. Driving a Honda-powered Mygale, Jodoin finished first in the standings, beating Didier Schraenen on a CMV-Ford and Serge Lacroix on a Van Diemen-Honda. Veteran Jim Edmonds clinched the title in the Master Class.

The 2016 calendar will be published soon.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula 1600
Article type Special feature
Tags canada, f1600, formula 1600