Rosenqvist secures pole for Hockenheim opener

Felix Rosenqvist took pole position for the first of this weekend's European Formula 3 races at Hockenheim, edging out Antonio Giovinazzi to top a closely fought session.

Rosenqvist secures pole for Hockenheim opener
Felix Rosenqvist, Prema Powerteam Dallara F312 Mercedes-Benz
Podium: second place Antonio Giovinazzi, Jagonya Ayam with Carlin and first place Felix Rosenqvist, Prema Powerteam and third place Jake Dennis, Prema Powerteam
Maximilian Gunther, kfzteile24 Mucke Motorsport
Felix Rosenqvist, Prema Powerteam Dallara F312 Mercedes-Benz

The Swede's best time of 1m32.455s came in the final moments of qualifying, breaking the previous benchmark established by home driver Maximilian Gunther by 0.154s.

Gunther had seized the top spot shortly after a brief mid-session red flag caused by Alex Albon ending up in the gravel, but was demoted to third as Giovinazzi came within 0.014s of Rosenqvist in the dying stages - and was denied the opportunity to further improve by another red flag brought out by Tatiana Calderon.

Fresh from his first F3 win at Silverstone, Charles Leclerc had gone quickest in the first part of the session, only for his time to be deleted. The Monegasque hauled himself back up to fourth late on, just under four tenths adrift of Rosenqvist, ahead of Ferrari junior Lance Stroll and early pacesetter Jake Dennis.

Brandon Maisano qualified seventh, while BRDC F4 graduate Raoul Hyman, Red Bull youngster Callum Ilott and German F3 champion Markus Pommer completed the top 10. George Russell meanwhile will line up down in 20th for the first race, the Brit ending up just over a second off the pace.

Marvin Kirchhofer meanwhile did not participate in the session after announcing his withdrawal from the series in order to focus on his GP3 commitments.

Qualifying results:

Pos   Driver  Time/Gap
Felix Rosenqvist 1m32.455
Antonio Giovinazzi 0.014
Maximilian Gunther 0.154
Charles Leclerc 0.390
Lance Stroll 0.461
Jake Dennis 0.505
Brandon Maisano 0.542
Raoul Hyman 0.582
Callum Ilott 0.647
10  Markus Pommer 0.678
11  Sergio Sette Camara 0.703
12  Gustavo Menezes 0.732
13  Arjun Maini 0.763
14  Mikkel Jensen 0.826
15  Sam MacLeod 0.828
16  Santino Ferrucci 0.954
17  Michele Beretta 0.971
18  Nicolas Beer 0.980
19  Ryan Tveter 1.000
20  George Russell 1.008
21  Julio Moreno 1.062
22  Matthew Solomon 1.188
23  Alessio Lorandi 1.240
24  Pietro Fittipaldi 1.361
25  Dorian Boccolacci 1.380
26  Nabil Jeffri 1.446
27  Fabian Schiller 1.579
28  Tatiana Calderon 1.715
29  Matt Rao 1.759
30  Martin Cao 1.783
31  Kang Ling 1.863
32  Mahaveer Raghunathan 2.096
33  Zhi Cong Li 2.474
34  Nicolas Pohler 2.969
35  Alexander Albon 9.238
Stroll: No pressure being a Ferrari driver

Previous article

Stroll: No pressure being a Ferrari driver

Next article

Rosenqvist completes pole sweep at Hockenheim

Rosenqvist completes pole sweep at Hockenheim
Load comments