Norisring F3: Stroll takes third straight win as Ilott takes out Eriksson

Lance Stroll extended his championship lead by converting his pole position into a victory in the first European F3 race at Norisring after main rivals Callum Ilott and Joel Eriksson collided.

Norisring F3: Stroll takes third straight win as Ilott takes out Eriksson

Although Stroll led the early laps of the race, he was never able to pull away from fellow front-row starter Joel Eriksson.

The Swede then made an impressive move on Lap 4 where, despite having to take the first two braking zones in the outside line, he forced his way through Stroll at the Scholler chicane.

The top two was closely followed by Nick Cassidy at that point but the Kiwi driver was soon demoted by Sergio Sette Camara and Ilott.

Ilott, who received a 10-place grid penalty for an engine change and was forced to start from 12th, continued his rapid charge by passing Sette Camara as well, the latter then exchanging positions with Cassidy on several occasions.

Ilott closed the gap on Eriksson and Stroll in no time, the trio separating themselves from the rest of the grid.

However, the Briton's impressive race soon came to an end after he took the first turn too deep and crashed into Eriksson.

Stroll inherited the lead as a result but, with the safety car coming on track, his lead on Camara, Kari, Guan Yu Zhou and Cassidy diminished.

While the Williams development driver had a good restart, Camara was passed by Kari and then crashed into teammate Zhou at Turn 4 after the Chinese driver also passed him.

The inevitable safety car stint was followed by Stroll comfortably leading the remaining five minutes to take his fourth win of the season.

Kari matched his best result in second with Cassidy passing George Russell for the final podium spot.

Aron emerged victorious in a late-race multi-car battle to secure fifth, ahead of Ben Barnicoat, Mikkel Jensen and Anthoine Hubert.

Pedro Piquet, who was hit by Harrison Newey on the second restart, and David Beckmann took the final point-scoring positions.

Maximilian Gunther was forced to pit with a loose front wing following a nudge on teammate Ralf Aron.

Another casualty of the hectic race was the Carlin of William Buller, who is replacing the injured Peter Li Zhi Cong.

Race results

1  Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam  
2  Niko Kari Motopark +1.064s
3  Nick Cassidy Prema Powerteam +2.258s
4  George Russell Hitech +2.926s
5  Ralf Aron Prema Powerteam +4.821s
6  Ben Barnicoat Hitech +6.233s
7  Mikkel Jensen Mucke Motorsport +7.401s
8  Anthoine Hubert Van Amersfoort Racing +7.883s
9  Pedro Piquet Van Amersfoort Racing +8.737s
10  David Beckmann Mucke Motorsport +13.285s
11  Nikita Mazepin Hitech +13.720s
12  Alessio Lorandi Carlin +13.881s
13  Ryan Tveter Carlin +13.992s
DNF  Joel Eriksson Motopark  
DNF  Guan Yu Zhou Motopark  
DNF  Callum Ilott Van Amersfoort Racing  
DNF  Maximilian Gunther Prema Powerteam  
DNF  Sergio Sette Camara Motopark  
DNF  Harrison Newey Van Amersfoort Racing  
DNF  William Buller Carlin  


BMW signs F3 racer Eriksson for junior scheme

Previous article

BMW signs F3 racer Eriksson for junior scheme

Next article

Norisring F3: Hubert survives three restarts for maiden win

Norisring F3: Hubert survives three restarts for maiden win
Load comments