Leclerc stuns Rosenqvist to win Hockenheim finale

Charles Leclerc executed a superb pass on Felix Rosenqvist in the wet at Hockenheim to snatch a second European Formula 3 win of the season.

Leclerc stuns Rosenqvist to win Hockenheim finale
Felix Rosenqvist, Prema Powerteam Dallara F312 Mercedes-Benz
Charles Leclerc, Van Amersfoort Racing, Dallara F312
Charles Leclerc, Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara F312 Volkswagen
Felix Rosenqvist, Prema Powerteam, Dallara F312
Antonio Giovinazzi, Jagonya Ayam with Carlin Dallara F312 Volkswagen
Charles Leclerc, Van Amersfoort Racing, Dallara F312
Mikkel Jensen, Mücke Motorsport Dallara F312 Mercedes-Benz

In the tricky conditions, polesitter Rosenqvist was unable to build an advantage at the head of the field once the field was released after a single lap behind the Safety Car.

The gap between the Swede and Leclerc hovered around the 1.5 second-mark for the opening stages, before the latter began to reel in his vastly more experienced opponent with a succession of quick laps.

By half-distance, the pair were nose-to-tail, and after two failed attempts at seizing the lead at the Spitzkehre hairpin, Leclerc was able to cut underneath Rosenqvist at the exit of the corner, drawing alongside along the following straight and move ahead as the pair went through the right-hand flick.

Leclerc proceeded to streak away from Rosenqvist before the Safety Car was deployed in response to a collision between Fortec stablemates Martin Cao and Pietro Fittipaldi that left the latter’s car stranded.

Once the action resumed, the race timed out after another two laps, with Leclerc making good his escape once again to take his second win of the season.

Behind the leading duo, Antonio Giovinazzi maintained his perfect podium finish record as the Italian benefitted from a spin by long-time third place man Maximilan Gunther at the start of the final lap.

Mikkel Jensen also took advantage to move up into fourth, with Gunther taking fifth after surviving being hit by Mucke teammate Santino Ferrucci in the final few corners. The American was handed a 20-second time penalty for the incident that dropped him all the way down to 28th.

Ferrucci’s penalty promoted Lance Stroll to sixth, with Markus Pommer, Jake Dennis and Alexander Albon all close behind. Callum Ilott, who started fourth but dropped down the order following contact with Jensen on the first racing lap, took the final point in 10th place.

Giovinazzi continues to lead the championship on 106 points, with Leclerc now just five behind in second and Rosenqvist a further seven back in third place.

Race results:

Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
Charles Leclerc Van Amersfoort Racing 36m03.129
Felix Rosenqvist Prema Powerteam 2.998
Antonio Giovinazzi Carlin 7.136
Mikkel Jensen Mucke Motorsport 8.045
Maximilian Gunther Mucke Motorsport 10.940
Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam 12.475
Markus Pommer Motopark 13.351
Jake Dennis Prema Powerteam 14.132
Alexander Albon Signature 15.367
10  Callum Ilott Carlin 15.788
11  Gustavo Menezes Carlin 16.517
12  Dorian Boccolacci Signature 18.490
13  Arjun Maini Van Amersfoort Racing 20.351
14  Sam MacLeod Motopark 20.837
15  Fabian Schiller West-Tec 21.368
16  Raoul Hyman West-Tec 22.048
17  Brandon Maisano Prema Powerteam 22.857
18  George Russell Carlin 23.234
19  Michele Beretta Mucke Motorsport 23.689
20  Ryan Tveter Carlin 23.883
21  Martin Cao Fortec 24.852
22  Nabil Jeffri Motopark 25.256
23  Matthew Solomon Double R Racing 25.823
24  Kang Ling Mucke Motorsport 26.579
25  Tatiana Calderon Carlin 26.920
26  Julio Moreno T-Sport 28.449
27  Sergio Sette Camara Motopark 28.869
28  Santino Ferrucci Carlin 29.680
29  Zhi Cong Li Fortec 30.707
30  Mahaveer Raghunathan Motopark 32.648
31  Matt Rao Fortec 47.700
32  Nicolas Pohler Double R Racing 1 Lap
Ret Pietro Fittipaldi Fortec
Ret Alessio Lorandi Van Amersfoort Racing
Rosenqvist takes imperious Hockenheim victory

Previous article

Rosenqvist takes imperious Hockenheim victory

Next article

Dennis takes last-gasp pole for Pau opener

Dennis takes last-gasp pole for Pau opener
Load comments